> Skip to content
  • Published: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448168446
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

By Force Of Arms

A gripping naval adventure full of derring-do, guaranteed to have you hooked.




The first in his enthralling REVOLUTION AT SEA series, set during America's War of Independence

From bestselling author James Nelson, an enthralling, swashbuckling naval adventure set in the American War of Independence, perfect for fans of C.S.Forester and Patrick O'Brian. You'll be gripped from the first page! "Authenticity runs throughout the book, carrying total conviction" -- Patrick O'Brian."This is another great author, who knows what he writes about." - ***** Reader review. "There is action and plot twists right up to the last page, I couldn't put it down." - ***** Reader review."A fine adventure series...first-rate action writing" -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY************************************FORCED TO SACRIFICE THE SHIP HE LOVES. CAPTURED BY THE ENEMY. CAN HE CHANGE HIS FATE? 1775. The American War of Independence is starting in earnest and Captain - and smuggler - Isaac Biddlecomb, pursued by HMS Rose, sacrifices his ship, the Judea, rather than surrender to the British.Forced to go on the run, and to disguise himself as a lowly ship's mate on a brig bound for Jamaica, he finds himself captured by the enemy.Can he use his wits to survive a life of servitude under the deranged captain and sadistic crew of the HMS Icarus...?By Force of Arms is the first novel inJames Nelson's Revolution at Sea series.Biddlecomb's story continues in The Maddest Idea.

  • Published: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448168446
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the author

James Nelson

James Nelson has served as a seaman, rigger, boatswain and officer on a number of sailing vessels. His novel Glory in the Name: A Novel of the Confederate Navy was the winner of the American Library Association's 2004 W.Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction. He is also the author of the five books comprising The Revolution at SeaSaga and The Brethren of the Coast trilogy. His first non-fiction book is Reign of Iron: The Story of the First Battling Ironclads, the Monitor and the Merrimack. He lives with his wife and children in Maine.

His web site can be found at: www.jameslnelson.com

Also by James Nelson

See all

Praise for By Force Of Arms

Authenticity runs throughout the book, carrying total conviction

Patrick O'Brian

First rate action writing

Publishers Weekly

Related titles