> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473540651
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

The Continental Risque

A captivating and stirring maritime adventure that will have you gripped

Book Three in the Revolution at Sea series - a stirring maritime adventure in the epic, true-to-life tradition of Patrick O'Brian.

An enthralling and swashbuckling naval adventure from bestselling author James Nelson you won't be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester.

"First-rate action writing" - Publishers Weekly
"Authenticity runs throughout the books, carrying total conviction" - Patrick O'Brian
"Fast paced and the plot has lots of twists..." - ***** Reader review
"Going to buy all his nautical books in time!! Love these!" - ***** Reader review



1776: A decade of simmering tensions is finally coming to the boil. Determined to cast off the chains of British tyranny, the rebel government of Philadelphia has authorised the creation of the United States Navy - a brazen act of American aggression against the greatest maritime power in the world.

Captain Isaac Biddlecomb sets sail in the Charlemagne on a daring mission to raid the British store of arms on New Providence Island in the Bahamas. Yet his greatest enemy is an undisciplined crew on the brink of mutiny.

Beset by betrayal and treachery, Biddlecomb must find a way of uniting his men against a cruel and common foe... as the British Navy prepares to sink the Charlemagne under the merciless blasts of its guns.

The Continental Risque is the third novel in James Nelson's Revolution at Sea series. Biddlecomb's story continues in Lords of the Ocean. Have you read By Force of Arms and The Maddest Idea, his first two adventures?

  • Pub date: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473540651
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the Author

James Nelson

James Nelson has served as a seaman, rigger, boatswain and officer on a number of sailing vessels. His novel Glory in the Name: A Novel of the Confederate Navy was the winner of the American Library Association's 2004 W.Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction. He is also the author of the five books comprising The Revolution at Sea Saga and The Brethren of the Coast trilogy. His first non-fiction book is Reign of Iron: The Story of the First Battling Ironclads, the Monitor and the Merrimack. He lives with his wife and children in Maine.

His web site can be found at: www.jameslnelson.com

Also by James Nelson

See all

Praise for The Continental Risque

“'A fine adventure series...first-rate action writing'”

Publishers Weekly

“'A master both of his period and the English language'”

Patrick O'Brian

Related titles