> Skip to content
  • Published: 19 October 2021
  • ISBN: 9781761042454
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $22.99

The Chocolate Tin

The highly anticipated, sensuous new blockbuster by the beloved, bestselling author of The Perfumer's Secret.


Alexandra Frobisher is a modern-thinking woman with hopes of a career in England's famous chocolate-making town of York. She has received several proposals of marriage, although none of them promises that elusive extra – love.

Matthew Britten-Jones is a man of charm and strong social standing. He impresses Alex and her parents with his wit and intelligence, but would an amicable union be enough for a fulfilling life together?

At the end of the war, Captain Harry Blakeney discovers a dead soldier in a trench in France. In the man's possession is a secret love note, tucked inside a tin of chocolate that had been sent to the soldiers as a gift from the people back home.

In pursuit of the author of this mysterious message, Harry travels to Rowntree's chocolate factory in England's north, where his life becomes inextricably bound with Alexandra and Matthew's. Only together will they be able to unlock secrets of the past and offer each other the greatest gift for the future.

From the battlefields of northern France to the medieval city of York, this is a heartbreaking tale about a triangle of love in all its forms and a story about the bittersweet taste of life . . . and of chocolate.

"Fast-paced, beautifully haunting and filled with the excruciating pain of love and war" Better Reading

'Fiona McIntosh is a prolific and superior writer in the genre, and if you enjoy popular romantic fiction, you'd be mad not to try her.' The Age


Complete your Fiona McIntosh collection today!
The Sugar Palace (preorder now!)
Fields of Gold
The Champagne War
The Chocolate Tin
The Diamond Hunter
The French Promise
The Last Dance
The Lavender Keeper
The Orphans
The Pearl Thief
The Perfumer's Secret
The Spy’s Wife
The Tailor's Girl
The Tea Gardens
Bye Bye Baby: DCI Jack Hawksworth 1
Beautiful Death: DCI Jack Hawksworth 2
Mirror Man: DCI Jack Hawksworth 3
Dead Tide: DCI Jack Hawksworth 4

  • Published: 19 October 2021
  • ISBN: 9781761042454
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Fiona McIntosh

Fiona McIntosh is an internationally and million-copy bestselling author of novels for adults and children across several genres. Alongside her highly successful historical fiction titles, for which she has been nominated at the Australian Book Industry Awards for commercial fiction book of the year, her popular Detective Jack Hawksworth series will soon be released across the UK. Several of her historical titles as well as the ‘world of Hawksworth’ crime novels have been optioned for the screen. Her debut children’s picture book, Harry and Gran, will be published in 2025. Fiona roams the world for her research and lives between Adelaide in South Australia and Wiltshire in England.

Also by Fiona McIntosh

See all

Awards & recognition

Australian Book Industry Awards

Longlisted  •  2017  •  General Fiction Book of the Year

Discover more

Hot chocolate sauce

Try this indulgent recipe from The Chocolate Tin author Fiona McIntosh.

Capturing the flavour

Fiona McIntosh’s enviable research trip behind her book The Chocolate Tin.

The Chocolate Tin book club notes

Change things up with a chocolate themed book club selection.