> Skip to content

John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.

First love is an epic disaster

Henry Page has never been in love. The slo-mo, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been on the cards—at least not yet. Henry’s too busy trying to get into a semi-decent college and become editor of his school newspaper, a dream three years in the making. The rest of his spare time he spends with his best friends, Lola and Murray, playing video games and advising them on their own sordid love lives.

Then he meets Grace Town, the elusive new girl in school, who wears oversized boys’ clothing, walks with a cane, rarely seems to shower, and is hiding crushing secrets. She’s hardly who Henry expected his dream girl to be, but when the two are chosen to edit the paper together, sparks fly. After all this time, Henry’s about to learn firsthand just how disastrous the road to first love can be—and that sometimes it’s the detours that end up mattering much more.

A brilliant debut that is equal parts humour and heartbreak, Krystal Sutherland’s Our Chemical Hearts is a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

Reviews

Eloquently conveying the complexity of love and grief, debut novelist Sutherland creates a story filled with intriguing and memorable characters

Publishers Weekly

Irresistible, romantic and heartbreaking, Sutherland’s debut will have huge appeal to readers of John Green and Jennifer Niven

The Bookseller

This YA novel about the joys and pains of first love has captured MY heart! Henry Page has lots to learn on the love front, and it's his bad luck (?) to have to learn it from the enigmatic, self-destructive Grace Town. I love the characters, love the dialogue (it's realistic and sharp without being pretentious) - I even love the less-than-perfect ending . . . You don't need to be a love-struck teen to enjoy it, though!

IndieNext

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143573906

    October 3, 2016

    Penguin (AU YR)

    320 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781760142667

    October 3, 2016

    Penguin eBooks (AU YR)

    320 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Krystal Sutherland

A Semi-definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Recommendations

Thirteen Reasons Why
The Fault In Our Stars
Frankie
Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda
The Sidekicks
Artemis Fowl
Yellow
Double Down: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK11)
Matilda
Dog Days
Holding Up The Universe
Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief
Girl Online
Charlie And The Chocolate Factory: A Play
One Photo
Girl Online
A Fortunate Life
United As One
Mr Romanov's Garden in the Sky
Soon