> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9781761041006
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 8 hr 1 min
  • Narrator: Robbie Daymond
  • RRP: $22.99

Our Chemical Hearts




An irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again – soon to be an Amazon original film starring Lili Reinhart (Riverdale) and Austin Abrams (Paper Towns).

Soon to be an Amazon original film starring Lili Reinhart (Riverdale) and Austin Abrams (Paper Towns)!

'Irresistible, romantic and heartbreaking, Sutherland’s debut will have huge appeal to readers of John Green and Jennifer Niven.' The Bookseller

Henry Page has never been in love. The slo-mo, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been on the cards—at least not yet. Henry’s too busy trying to get into a semi-decent college and become editor of his school newspaper, a dream three years in the making. The rest of his spare time he spends with his best friends, Lola and Murray, playing video games and advising them on their own sordid love lives.

Then he meets Grace Town, the elusive new girl in school, who wears oversized boys’ clothing, walks with a cane, rarely seems to shower, and is hiding crushing secrets. She’s hardly who Henry expected his dream girl to be, but when the two are chosen to edit the paper together, sparks fly. After all this time, Henry’s about to learn firsthand just how disastrous the road to first love can be—and that sometimes it’s the detours that end up mattering much more.

A brilliant novel from the author of A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares that is equal parts humour and heartbreak, Krystal Sutherland’s Our Chemical Hearts is a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

  • Pub date: 4 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9781761041006
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 8 hr 1 min
  • Narrator: Robbie Daymond
  • RRP: $22.99

About the Author

Krystal Sutherland

Krystal Sutherland grew up in Australia, directly across the road from the local public library, where she spent almost every day after school having adventures between the pages of books. Now her own novels for young adults have been published in more than twenty countries. She served as an executive producer on Chemical Hearts, the Amazon Studios film adaptation of her first book, which stars Lili Reinhart and Austin Abrams. The TV rights to her second novel, A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares, were optioned by Yellow Bird US. Her third book, House of Hollow, is set for publication in 2021. She has lived in Sydney, San Francisco, Amsterdam and Hong Kong, but she currently calls London home. You can find her on Instagram at @km_sutherland or online at krystalsutherland.com

Also by Krystal Sutherland

See all

Praise for Our Chemical Hearts

“Eloquently conveying the complexity of love and grief, debut novelist Sutherland creates a story filled with intriguing and memorable characters”

Publishers Weekly

“Irresistible, romantic and heartbreaking, Sutherland’s debut will have huge appeal to readers of John Green and Jennifer Niven”

The Bookseller

“This YA novel about the joys and pains of first love has captured MY heart! Henry Page has lots to learn on the love front, and it's his bad luck (?) to have to learn it from the enigmatic, self-destructive Grace Town. I love the characters, love the dialogue (it's realistic and sharp without being pretentious) - I even love the less-than-perfect ending . . . You don't need to be a love-struck teen to enjoy it, though!”

IndieNext

“The characters speak with a John Green-esque voice, but they are never overbearingly precocious. Narrator Henry's a smartly rendered character, a decent kid who has goals and works hard to achieve them. His new goal is Grace's affection, and the unstoppable force meeting the immovable object that is Grace's emotional unavailability provides the novel some of its sharpest moments. When the walls tumble down, the connection between the two is clearly an unhealthy one, and the author pulls no punches, devastating Henry, Grace, and readers in equal measure. An emotionally engaging and draining debut”

Kirkus

“The ups and downs of Henry and Grace’s relationship will give students a genuine portrait of what it is like to be drawn to someone who may not be good for you but who will teach you something about yourself and others. VERDICT Despite occasional false notes, this book delves far deeper than the typical high school romance, and its savvy wordplay and Henry’s self-deprecating charm will win over fans of Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars”

Sara Scribner, Athens Academy, GA, School Library Journal

“Our Chemical Hearts is a love story with a difference. It's not easy, it's not typical, and it's not the sort of love story that readers will be expecting, but it will resonate. Fans of Life in Outer Space, Words in Deep Blue, and contemporary YA in general, will enjoy this cast of characters and the world in which they live.”

Mands, The Bookish Manicurist

“Humour and heartache are close companions in this debut young adult love story and coming-of-age tale. Key turning points in the relationship ... are dealt with sensitivity and honesty. one to recommend to John Green devotees.”

Nola Allen, Magpies


Awards & Recognition

  • Indie Book Awards

    Shortlisted • 2017 • Young Adult

  • Readings Book Prize

    Shortlisted • 2017 • Young Adult

  • CBCA Book of the Year Awards

    Notable Book • 2017 • Older Readers


Related titles