> Skip to content

Books that move to a musical pulse.

French Romantic poet and novelist Victor Hugo famously said: “Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.” When written words are made to dance along to a musical beat, stories can be elevated from the page – reverberating long after the final notes are struck. Here are some books with music in their hearts.

  • Million-copy bestselling winner of the Japan Booksellers Award, chosen as the title bookshop staff most wanted to hand-sell: A feel-good, uplifting novel for fans of A WHOLE LIFE by Robert Seethaler.

  • Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

  • A bestselling novel from a well-loved, critically acclaimed novelist of prodigious breadth of talent

  • A compelling novel about art and power, courage and cowardice from the Booker-winning author of The Sense of An Ending

  • Ian McEwan's celebrated novel, now an unmissable film starring Oscar nominee Saoirse Ronan (Atonement, Brooklyn)

  • The release of the film tie-in edition of Murakiam’s coming-of-age cult classic of love and loss is to coincide with the new major motion picture starring Rinko Kikuchi (‘Babel’).

  • In small town suburbia, three young men are ready to make their mark.

  • This is a love story to rival the very best. Caught up in the nostalgia for first love and the type of music that they don't make any more, Mix Tape asks the biggest question of all: what if 'what could have been' is still to come?

  • The Lost Love Song is a bewitching novel about love, second chances and the power of music, from the author of the critically acclaimed, bestselling Star-crossed . . .

More Book Lists

Father's Day

Settle in with your little ones and enjoy quality time with these Dad-tastic reads!

Unreliable Narrators

Protagonists so flawed they could only be human.

A Guide to… Ottessa Moshfegh

Introducing the five titles to date from a rapidly rising literary star.

Reset Your Skillset

Life advice, hacks and strategies to lead your way through adversity and prosper.

A Look Ahead: Fiction

Some of the most anticipated novels to come in 2020.

Reading About Racism

A starting point for learning, discussion and change.