> Skip to content
Ian McEwan
Photo Credit: (c) Urszula Soltys 2016

Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; Nutshell; and Machines Like Me, which was a number-one bestseller. Atonement, Enduring Love, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach have all been adapted for the big screen.

More features

Books of the year 2022

From fantastically funny rom-coms to straightforward self-help, these are some of the best books of 2022.

Ian McEwan Q&A

The acclaimed author answers our questions about his novel Machines Like Me.

The Children Act book club notes

A memorable book club choice: Ian McEwan’s The Children Act.

Nutshell book club notes

For a book club unlike any other: Nutshell by Ian McEwan