> Skip to content

Reading suggestions from the book piles of Penguin Books Australia staff.

It’s an enormous thrill to be able to read books before they hit the shelves. And, let’s face it, it’s why many Penguin Books Australia staffers are in the publishing business to begin with. Words spread pretty fast around here, so every month we whip around the offices to ask what everyone is reading. These are some of our current favourites.

  • How to love the skin you're in – an inspirational lifestyle book by the world’s leading body acceptance activist.

  • A nail-biting thriller that turns popular true-crime such as Serial and Making A Murderer on its head, Greenlight will shock with twists and turns you’ll never see coming.

  • The women of the Hubb Community Kitchen invite you to make their favourite simple dishes for your loved ones.

  • The long-awaited memoir of Australia’s sweetheart, Olivia Newton-John, covering everything from Grease to her journeys with cancer to her tireless charity work.

  • A bold and heartbreaking new novel from one of America's most talented young writers.

  • An electrifying debut novel from one of the most exciting new voices in contemporary fiction

  • A monumental novel about trees and people by one of our most 'prodigiously talented' (The New York Times Book Review) novelists.

  • The death of Matthew Leveson and the ten-year search for the truth

  • A powerful first novel dealing with life, loss and the redemptive power of love.

  • A big story from a small town.

  • Australia's funniest new author for kids is back with a fresh batch of stories about the mysterious Mr Bambuckle and the class of room 12B.

  • Award-winning writer Mary K. Pershall details her heart-rending personal experience of raising a beloved child who couldn't cope with reality, and ends up in a maximum-security prison convicted of murder.

  • What makes a man turn his back on society? What makes him return?

  • Centred around Captain James Cook’s first South Sea voyages (1768 – 1771) from a historian who leaves no stone unturned to discover the ship and the attitude that shaped the western world.

  • Age is no barrier to creating poetry that inspires social change and positive action. Thirteen-year-old award-winning slam poet Solli Raphael is taking on the world … one word at a time. The future needs you and me to create equality across all levels of humanity ~ Solli

  • A mesmerising new novel from the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient.

  • THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION 'Haunting . . . Beautifully written' The New York Times Book Review 'Compelling' The Washington Post 'Epic . . . Transcendent . . . Triumphant' Elle

  • An extraordinary memoir about a woman's discovery of education, its transformative power and the price she has to pay for it.

  • From the mad-cap best-selling author of Thai-riffic!, Con-nerd and The Other Christy comes this completely inside out, crazy tale of a very reluctant hero who might just find out he’s a natural born born loser – ahem – leader.

  • Want to make a change but don’t know where to start? The practical thirty-day guide to radically reducing your waste by 80%, from waste warrior Anita Vandyke.

  • A compelling coming-of-age story for teenagers from much-loved Australian author and media personality, Andrew Daddo.

  • Dreamlike and compulsive, a blazing literary debut about love, violence and survival at any cost. For fans of Hot Milk, The Girls and The Handmaid's Tale.

  • Your husband thinks your daughter’s an angel. You know different. She’s a monster.

  • Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018, the powerful fourth novel from multi-award-winning author of The Spinning Heart. From war-torn Syria to small-town Ireland, the lives of three men are drawn together in the most unexpected of ways.

More Book Lists

Dreaming Awake

Surrealism on a sliding scale – five shades of Haruki Murakami.

Travel Guides, Reinvented

Iconic travel guides, updated and reimagined.

Space Week

Explore amongst the stars with an out-of-this-world collection of space-themed books.

TED Talkers

Books from influencers used to stating their cases 18 minutes at a time.

Speaking from the Heart

Incredible speeches by some of the world’s gifted orators.

Vegetarian Cookbooks

Celebrating freshness and flavours from around the world.