> Skip to content

Reading suggestions from the book piles of Penguin Books Australia staff.

It’s an enormous thrill to be able to read books before they hit the shelves. And, let’s face it, it’s why many Penguin Books Australia staffers are in the publishing business to begin with. Words spread pretty fast around here, so every month we whip around the offices to ask what everyone is reading. These are some of our current favourites.

  • The New York Times bestselling author of The Code of the Extraordinary Mind challenges everything you thought you knew about how to inspire and empower your teams.

  • Stephanie Garber's Caraval meets Kendare Blake’s Three Dark Crowns and Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses in this gripping, dark fairytale fantasy about two girls who must choose between saving themselves, each other, or their sinking island city.

  • Ex-cop Ted Conkaffey is slowly rebuilding his life in Crimson Lake, and getting to know his three-year-old daughter, Lillian. But when he and his PI partner Amanda take on the case of a boy who seems to have literally disappeared into thin air, his job once again threatens everything . . .

  • Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high-school whodunit.

  • Inspired by a real case, Half Moon Lake is a captivating historical novel set in America's Deep South about a lost boy - and the two mothers who both seek to claim him.

  • Penguin Random House Australia

    Introducing Puffin Little – beautifully designed, simple and engaging non-fiction books for early readers!

  • A haunting, compelling first novel by the author of the award-winning Madness: A Memoir.

  • In this electrifying sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood answers the question that has tantalised readers for decades: What happened to Offred?

  • An intellectually exhilarating memoir-meets-examination of cancer (both illness and industry) in the age of data, from an award-winning poet and essayist.

  • Book 14 of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series — from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney.

  • Winner of the 2020 Betty Trask Award, the inaugural Penguin Literary Prize and a Canberra Critics Circle Award.

  • A reminder of what truly matters, as told through the adventures of four beloved friends. Based on Charlie's daily Instagram. For fans of Winnie-the-pooh's Little Book of Wisdom.

  • The definitive portrait of one of the twentieth century's most towering figures: her writing and her radical thought, her public activism and her private face.

  • An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States.

  • On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then sat on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of The Tall Man, is the story of that man, the fire he lit, and the people who were killed.

  • From the bestselling author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this perfectly crafted novel about families, relationships and the true nature of belonging.

  • The Drover's Wife is utterly authentic, brilliantly plotted, thoroughly harrowing and entirely of our times exploring race, gender, violence and inheritance.

  • Teeming with energy, humour and heart, a love song to black Britain told by twelve very different people.

  • The smash-hit bestseller which exposes the invisible bias in our everyday lives - 'HELL YES. This is one of those books that has the potential to change things' (Caitlin Moran)

  • The first global history of Maosim that explores Maos’ life, ideas, influence and legacy as a power that shaped the world well beyond the borders of China.

  • Based on the hit ABC KIDS TV show!

  • The second book in Tim Harris's ridiculously entertaining Toffle Towers series that will make kids laugh out loud – and get their imaginations soaring.

More Book Lists

Father's Day

Settle in with your little ones and enjoy quality time with these Dad-tastic reads!

Unreliable Narrators

Protagonists so flawed they could only be human.

A Guide to… Ottessa Moshfegh

Introducing the five titles to date from a rapidly rising literary star.

Reset Your Skillset

Life advice, hacks and strategies to lead your way through adversity and prosper.

A Look Ahead: Fiction

Some of the most anticipated novels to come in 2020.

Reading About Racism

A starting point for learning, discussion and change.