> Skip to content

Article  •  30 June 2021

 

The Authority Gap by numbers

Startling figures from Mary Ann Sieghart revealing the unseen bias at work in our everyday lives.

This is a book that will make you angry, it will make you shake your head in disbelief. But it will also inspire you. In the words of Julia Gillard, 'The Authority Gap [by] Mary Ann Sieghart combines an absorbing review of the contemporary evidence on the systematic undervaluing of women with some powerful new insights. Whether you know a little or a lot about sexism and misogyny, there is much to learn from this book, including some very practical tips on creating change that you can implement the minute after you turn the last page.'

The book includes new, original research and interviews with pioneering women including Baroness Hale, Mary Beard and Caitlin Moran. Here we dive into some of the shocking stats:

  • According to findings from the Woman Interrupted app, which detects when a female voice is spoken over by a man, this happens 1.67 times a minute in the UK, 1.43 times a minute in the US, and a whopping 8.28 times in Pakistan, 7.22 times in Nigeria and 6.66 times in Malaysia.
  • An experiment with forest-users in Indonesia, Peru and Tanzania found that including at least 50 per cent women in the decision-making groups led to more trees being conserved and to payments being distributed more equitably.
  • Researchers in Australia found that women do ask for a pay rise just as often as men. They are just not given it. Women are often punished for being as assertive as men. They don’t get the pay rise, the promotion or the job, even if they ask for it. And this is because women, unlike men, are rewarded for being likeable.
  • 70 per cent of men rate men more highly for achieving the same goals as women, rising to 75 per cent for men in senior positions.
  • A woman applicant is 30 per cent less likely to be called for a job interview than an identically qualified man.
  • Male students consistently rate other male students as cleverer than better-performing female ones.
  • Men are four times more likely to read a book by a man than by a woman. Women read books by both genders roughly equally.
  • The odds of recommending a woman rather than a man for a job are 38% lower if the job requires serious intelligence.
  • High-achieving men applying for jobs are called for interview nearly twice as often as high-achieving women.
  • Male hirers are more than five times more likely to say they don’t want to work with a woman who tries to negotiate on pay than with a man who does.

The Authority Gap Mary Ann Sieghart

Based on new, original research and interviews with pioneering women including Baroness Hale, Mary Beard and Caitlin Moran, this is a fresh feminist take on how to address and counteract systemic sexism, perfect for fans of Invisible Women.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
Five tips for surviving year 12 exams

As year 12 students prepare for their exams, author of Atomic Habits, James Clear, has some simple tips that could help.

Article
Journalist’s haunting encounter at serial killer’s murder scene

When Garry Linnell stumbled across the grisly story of Frederick Deeming, he knew it was the one he wanted to tell.

Article
Dire prediction of ‘uninhabitable’ parts of Australia

Greg Mullins, former Commissioner of Fire and Rescue NSW, predicts parts of Australia will record 50C days in just decades to come.

Article
'Utterly broken': The Resilience Project co-founder’s powerful admission

Hugh van Cuylenburg was being interviewed on a national radio station when he surprised himself with an admission.

Article
Simple reading hacks for time-poor dads

Two authors — who are also dads — share their tips on how fathers can get a moment to themselves.

Article
The four hidden health benefits of reading

Reading offers us entertainment and a quick escape from reality, but did you know about these other hidden health benefits?

Article
The top books for dad this Father's Day

Show them you know them by picking a book that perfectly matches your dad.

Recipe
Spinach and ricotta lasagne

A fresh and delicious lasagne to enjoy regularly.

Recipe
Sticky miso bananas with lime and toasted rice

This dessert ticks all our flavour boxes.

Recipe
Confit tandoori chickpeas

These chickpeas have had their fair share of Insta fame for a multitude of reasons.

Recipe
Vodka lemon drizzle pancakes with blackberry compote

There is, I have to confess, no need to put the vodka in the blackberry compote that accompanies these, but it does add to the sense of occasion.

Recipe
Vietnamese poached chicken salad with mint & coriander

What appeals to me about this salad is the combination of lightly poached chicken, bean sprouts, spring onions and herbs with roasted chopped nuts and sesame seeds, and the slightly gloopy fish sauce, lime juice and chilli dressing.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles