> Skip to content

Article  •  30 June 2021

 

The Authority Gap by numbers

Startling figures from Mary Ann Sieghart revealing the unseen bias at work in our everyday lives.

This is a book that will make you angry, it will make you shake your head in disbelief. But it will also inspire you. In the words of Julia Gillard, 'The Authority Gap [by] Mary Ann Sieghart combines an absorbing review of the contemporary evidence on the systematic undervaluing of women with some powerful new insights. Whether you know a little or a lot about sexism and misogyny, there is much to learn from this book, including some very practical tips on creating change that you can implement the minute after you turn the last page.'

The book includes new, original research and interviews with pioneering women including Baroness Hale, Mary Beard and Caitlin Moran. Here we dive into some of the shocking stats:

  • According to findings from the Woman Interrupted app, which detects when a female voice is spoken over by a man, this happens 1.67 times a minute in the UK, 1.43 times a minute in the US, and a whopping 8.28 times in Pakistan, 7.22 times in Nigeria and 6.66 times in Malaysia.
  • An experiment with forest-users in Indonesia, Peru and Tanzania found that including at least 50 per cent women in the decision-making groups led to more trees being conserved and to payments being distributed more equitably.
  • Researchers in Australia found that women do ask for a pay rise just as often as men. They are just not given it. Women are often punished for being as assertive as men. They don’t get the pay rise, the promotion or the job, even if they ask for it. And this is because women, unlike men, are rewarded for being likeable.
  • 70 per cent of men rate men more highly for achieving the same goals as women, rising to 75 per cent for men in senior positions.
  • A woman applicant is 30 per cent less likely to be called for a job interview than an identically qualified man.
  • Male students consistently rate other male students as cleverer than better-performing female ones.
  • Men are four times more likely to read a book by a man than by a woman. Women read books by both genders roughly equally.
  • The odds of recommending a woman rather than a man for a job are 38% lower if the job requires serious intelligence.
  • High-achieving men applying for jobs are called for interview nearly twice as often as high-achieving women.
  • Male hirers are more than five times more likely to say they don’t want to work with a woman who tries to negotiate on pay than with a man who does.

Feature Title

The Authority Gap
Based on new, original research and interviews with pioneering women including Baroness Hale, Mary Beard and Bernadine Evaristo, this is a fresh feminist take on how to address and counteract systemic sexism, perfect for fans of Invisible Women.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
QUIZ: Which Aussie dog are you?

Take this fun quiz to find out which amazing Aussie dog you’re most like.

Article
How becoming parents inspired YouTube stars to write a children's book

We caught up with Jessica and Stephen Parry-Valentine to learn about their new book, van life, travelling with a baby and the destinations they recommend everyone adds to their bucket list.

Article
Memoir Madness: 5 memoirs to dig into this month

See some of the best books – old and new – that recount the real lives of influential people.

Article
Everything you need to know about David Attenborough

All about Sir David Attenborough. Find out his age, birthplace, how many documentaries he has made and more.

Article
QUIZ: What type of investor are you?

Find out what type of investor you are, thanks to this helpful quiz from Investing with She's on the Money.

Article
9 books to read after Atomic Habits

Love Atomic Habits but don’t know what to read next? Never fear, we’ve got the perfect guide for you.

Article
20 of the best non-fiction books of 2022

See some of the best non-fiction books of 2022 so far, as well as more great titles coming this year.

Article
If you liked his TED talk, you'll love Nigel Marsh's new book

See what Nigel has to say about his books, podcast, TED talk and new book. Smart, Stupid and Sixty comes out this month, so get ready for more insight from the author.

Article
9 fun facts about bestselling author Hugh van Cuylenburg

Get to know Hugh van Cuylenburg, bestselling author of The Resilience Project and Let Go.

Q&A
Melissa Doyle shares the biggest lesson she learned while writing new book

We talked with Melissa Doyle about her new book, 15 Seconds of Brave. She told us about her writing set-up, who she’d love to read the book, and the difference between telling a story on page versus on-screen.

Q&A
Mike Carlton shares the book that inspired his love of naval history

Mike Carlton shares his favourite historic naval novel, the disgusting meal he learned about while writing The Scrap Iron Flotilla and more.

News
Michelle Obama announces new book – The Light We Carry – coming this November

In an inspiring follow-up to her critically acclaimed, #1 bestselling memoir Becoming, former First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama shares practical wisdom and powerful strategies for staying hopeful and balanced.

Looking for more articles?

See all articles