> Skip to content

Recipe  •  19 January 2023

 

Honey Chilli Beef Noodles

A delicious, easy fakeaway that’s healthier than your average take-out noodles.

This is a quick and lean version of one of my favourite local Chinese takeaway dishes, and one of the most popular recipes I have ever shared with my online followers.

Serves 3

  • 400g beef steaks, thinly sliced
  • 4 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 5 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar
  • 5 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 3 tbsp orange juice
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp cornflour, mixed to a paste with 1 tbsp water
  • 1 red pepper, sliced
  • 200g dried egg noodles
  • 350ml hot chicken stock
  • chopped spring onions and sesame seeds, to garnish

Method

Place all the ingredients, except the red pepper, noodles and stock, in the slow cooker and stir. Cook on high for 2 hours. Add the red pepper, noodles and stock, stir and cook for another 15–20 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes. Garnish with spring onions and sesame seeds.

Feature Title

Bored of Lunch: The Healthy Slow Cooker Book
The much-anticipated first book from the hit diet recipe platform, Bored of Lunch. Eat well and save money with 80 easy, healthy slow cooker recipes. For fans of Pinch of Nom Quick and Easy (463k TCM), BBC Good Food's Slow Cooker Favourites (163k TCM) and The Fitness Chef (20k TCM).
Read more

More features

See all recipes
Recipe
Creamy chicken, chorizo & sundried tomato pasta

The delicious pasta recipe from Nathan Anthony that's gone viral around the world.

Recipe
Garlic mac & cheese

A flavourful fuss-free favourite, perfect for lunches.

Recipe
Beef noodles with peanut sauce

Prepare your ingredients, and let the slow cooker do the rest!

Recipe
Irish stew with beef & Guinness

A one-step, full-flavour Irish stew.

Recipe
Red Lentil Dhal

Dhal goes really well with vegetables and rice, but it has plenty of sauce for dipping naan as well. You could even top the bowls with some grilled chicken.

Recipe
Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

Overnight oats + cake + air fryer = easy and tasty!

Recipe
Spicy tomato, tortellini and chilli soup

This vegetarian slow cooker spicy tomato tortellini and chilli soup from Bored of Lunch is an easy dish for cold days.

Recipe
Chilli con carne macaroni melt

This easy slow cooker recipe from Bored of Lunch combines chilli con carne with macaroni cheese for the very definition of healthy comfort food.

Recipe
Harissa chicken gyros

A stunning lunchtime chicken gyros.

Recipe
French toast bites

Tasty French toast, in bite-sized form.

Recipe
Fish tacos

Give your air fryer a whirl with this fish taco recipe.

Q&A
Nathan Anthony of Bored of Lunch fame shares his ultimate comfort food

We chatted with social media star and home cook extraordinaire Nathan Anthony to learn about his favourite herbs, most-used ingredients and more.

Looking for more recipes?

See all recipes