> Skip to content

Q&A  •  18 January 2023

 

Ann Liang shares how she managed to publish two YA books before age 23

We asked Ann Liang about her writing process, her views on the publishing process, and how she came up with the idea for ‘This Time It’s Real.’

What was your writing process like for This Time It’s RealDid you have a writing routine or any regular rituals?

I wrote This Time It’s Real while I was a full-time university student, so although I tried to be as consistent as possible with my writing schedule, much of it was dictated by how heavy the coursework was or when my assignments were due. 

Weekends and holidays were crucial writing times for me. I found that I always worked best in the mornings, so I would plan my schedule around that. Overall, it took around 2 months for me to complete the first draft.  

How did you first come up with the idea for the book? 

For me, book ideas never seem to come from just one place. A while ago, I had this very vague idea about a girl who makes something up in a journal entry or essay or something only to have it go public, but I kind of let it simmer. 

Then I did an internship for a publication that reported on Chinese entertainment, which is how the elements of China’s idol culture and Eliza’s internship took shape (paired with the fact that I’ve always loved C-dramas). 

The Beijing international school setting was inspired by my own school, and that helped tie all those other aspects together. 

Ultimately, it wasn’t a linear process or a sudden lightning bolt of inspiration. It was more like fitting together pieces of a puzzle that you’ve been collecting over the years.

What was the publishing process like?

I’m really lucky in that the publishing process happened quite quickly for me, though at the time, it felt like it was taking forever. I found my current agent through my first book in 2020, and it took less than a week before I was offered representation by multiple agents. 

Shortly after we sold my debut novel If You Could See The Sun, I started working on This Time It’s Real, and then I sent the completed draft to my agent. 

My agent gives incredible editorial feedback and I trust her wholly with all my projects, so we were able to polish it up together quite quickly. She then came up with a list of editors to submit the manuscript to and sent it out into the world. I tried to be all cool and calm about it, but honestly, I was very nervous — you simply never know what’s going to happen and there are so many factors outside your control. 

We got our first offer in a week, and then more editors expressed interest, and it wasn’t long before we were heading to a seven-house auction, which was absolutely surreal and beyond anything I’d dared to hope for. I’m based in Melbourne, Australia which means all of this was happening in the dead of night, and I just remember waking up to this massive adrenaline rush because there’d be updates waiting for me in my inbox. 

I still can’t believe it worked out in this way. The timing was perfect too because, by the time the auction happened, I was set to be graduating soon. Knowing that I’d sold my next two books helped (somewhat) ease the panic of job-hunting and mapping out my entire future as an adult.

What most excites you about your book being published in 2023? 

I’ll be turning 23 in 2023, which I feel is both such an exciting and scary age because you have more life experience but there’s also still so much you aren’t really certain of. 

Also, since this is my first rom-com, and it’s something I’ve been working on for the past two years, I’m super excited for people to finally read it.

Do you have a favourite book or author?

It’s truly impossible for me to pick one favourite book or author, but just off the top of my head, a few I really love include 

Foul Lady Fortune by Chloe Gong 

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh

The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

and of course, the books that shaped my childhood, like The Hunger Games and the Shatter Me series.  

What inspired you to become a writer?

I’ve always loved reading and writing, and I’ve even had people tell me from a pretty young age that I could be an author. But for some reason, I didn’t process it until Year Eleven. 

My history teacher had asked us to write a paragraph introducing ourselves and our passions and what we wanted to do in life. I wrote an unnecessarily long and in-depth essay about how I didn’t know what I was meant to do. She replied, very simply, that it was clear I was a writer.

What surprised you most about the publishing process? 

The publishing process has been filled with surprises, but what’s really blown me away is how incredibly kind and supportive people have been about my book! I always try to keep my expectations as low as possible, so this was a very happy surprise.

What did you want to be when you grew up and why?

I have, at various points in my life, wanted to be: a professional equestrian, a stable hand (so I could be around horses in case the horse-riding part didn’t work out), a vet, a teacher, a data analyst, and – very specifically – a human resource manager (I believe this was because I did one of those career quizzes and this came up as one of the options). 

I would be dead-serious about pursuing these career paths for a few months because I was inspired by a show or someone's advice, and then my interest would wane and I’d consider something different. My interest in writing has remained consistent, though, which I feel says a lot.

Do you have any tips for aspiring authors?

Honestly, most days I still feel like an aspiring author, so I guess this is as much for myself as everyone else, but I’d say this: try not to let the writing totally consume you. 

This isn’t a job where you can log off at the end of the day and not think about it again, so a lot of writers I know write throughout the weekends, after work or school, and through the holidays. It’s easy to let writing become the number one focus in your life at the expense of other things, but it’s okay to take a break or spend time on other hobbies or go on trips or watch a show.

If you could go back in time and give your past self one piece of advice, what would it be and why?

Be patient. It’s so hard to predict when things are going to happen in publishing, and you don’t want to be stuck in waiting mode all the time.

What is the best writing lesson/ tip you ever received? 

Reading widely is obviously really important, but you can find inspiration from things outside books as well. Short stories, movies, shows, poetry, art, songs etc. All of it helps.

 

Want more? Read an extract of This Time It’s Real.

Feature Title

This Time It's Real
Get ready to fall in love in this hilarious romcom about a girl who begins a fake relationship with the famous actor in her class, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.
Read more

More features

See all
Article
Some of the most anticipated YA books of 2024

Exciting upcoming books for YA readers.

Q&A
Alex Michaelides shares why his new novel was his favourite to write

Learn about Alex Michaelides’s new book, the real-life people who inspired his characters and how growing up in Cyprus contributed to the setting.

Q&A
Rachael Johns shares her trick for getting words onto the page

We caught up with Rachael Johns to learn about her writing routines, favourite rom-coms and new book The Other Bridget.

Q&A
Shannah Kennedy and Colleen Callander explain what the word 'elevate' means to them

We caught up with the co-authors of Elevate to learn more about their work, their goals for 2024, and their best advice for getting out of a slump.

Q&A
Anna Funder taking on the patriarchy

We caught up earlier this year with Anna Funder to discuss her upcoming book Wifedom, and how it explores marriage and art as a piece of 'counter-fiction'.

Q&A
The unlikely way Kate Dramis found her literary agent

We asked debut author Kate Dramis about the publication of her first novel, The Curse of Saints. Read about her ‘fairy-tale’ submission experience, how she came up with the idea for the book and more.

Q&A
Nathan Anthony of Bored of Lunch fame shares his ultimate comfort food

We chatted with social media star and home cook extraordinaire Nathan Anthony to learn about his favourite herbs, most-used ingredients and more.

Q&A
What happens when your debut novel becomes a bestseller? We asked Bonnie Garmus

We caught up with Bonnie Garmus after a whirlwind year of success with her debut novel, Lessons in Chemistry.

Q&A
One of the world’s top barbecue chefs shares his favourite food memory

We caught up with Aaron Franklin, author of ‘Franklin Smoke’ and the man behind the restaurant, Franklin Barbecue in Texas. Learn about his ultimate comfort food cooking hacks and more.

Q&A
Jordan Collins talks inspiration behind new book, ‘Dorothy’

Learn all about ‘Dorothy’, straight from the author. Jordon Collins shares what they want readers to take away from the book, their writing process and what their favourite books were as a child.

Q&A
Eloise Head (AKA Fitwaffle) shares her all-time favourite baking ingredients

We caught up with Eloise Head ahead of the release of her cookbook, ‘Fitwaffle’s Baked In One.’ Learn about her favourite ingredients, ultimate comfort food and more.

Q&A
Being a reader inspired this debut author to write her own book

We talked to Kate Scott, author of Compulsion, to learn about her writing routine (or lack thereof), advice she’d give her past self and the source of her inspiration.

Looking for more Q&As?

See all Q&As