Penguin News

Catch up on all the latest news from Penguin Random House Australia including award winning authors, illustrators, designers, publishers and other publishing industry and book related news.

2010 Aurealis Awards - winner
23 May 2011

Children's Fiction (told primarily through pictures)

The Boy and the Toy, by Sonya Hartnett, illustrated by Lucia Masciullo

Jane Morrow wins Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship
20 May 2011

Lantern editor Jane Morrow is this year’s recipient of the Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship. The announcement was made last night at the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

This biannual grant, overseen by the APA, provides funds for an Australian book editor to spend 10 weeks in the US researching an aspect of the publishing industry.

Jane will be looking at trends and processes in the digitisation of illustrated books.

For more information please visit the APA website

59th Annual APA Book Design Awards 2011 - winners
20 May 2011

The Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book sponsored by 1010 Printing International

The Midnight Zoo cover and internal design by Tony Palmer

The Best Designed Children’s Non-fiction Book - Joint Winner

Wicked Warriors and Evil Emperors cover and internal design by Adam Laszczuk

The Best Designed General Illustrated Book sponsored by Murdoch Books

Shack cover and internal design by Allison Colpoys

For more details and the full list of winners vist the website

Related Books

Book Cover:  Wicked Warriors and Evil Emperors: The True Story of the Fight for Ancient China
You might call him evil, but when empires are at stake, people do incredible things.
You might call him evil, but when empires are at stake, people do incredible things.
Published: 02/08/2010
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780143304340
Book Cover:  Shack: In Praise of an Australian Icon
In Australia shacks have become our protest against the brick veneer, the place where we unwind on holiday, the workshop that feeds our soul.
In Australia shacks have become our protest against the brick veneer, the place where we unwind on holiday, the workshop that feeds our soul.
Published: 25/10/2010
Format: Hardback
ISBN: 9781920989125
The Power of One Australian Hero Award 2011 - winner
16 May 2011

Brian Cox wins The Power of One Australian Hero Award 2011

Bryce Courtenay and Penguin Group Australia congratulate Brian Cox, Founder of the Melbourne Alcoholics Recovery Centre, on winning the 2011 Power of One Australian Hero Award.

Brian, a recovered alcoholic himself, has spent the past 17 years helping problem drinkers by providing a therapeutic environment which lends growth to individual responsibility and the best of opportunities to recover from alcoholism/dependency. Currently the Melbourne Alcoholics Recovery Centre manages 20 beds across 4 houses for men who are recovering from alcohol addiction, and this Award will enable MARC to provide a similar crisis house service for women.

“It would be difficult for me to exaggerate how pleased I am that Brian Cox, who founded the Melbourne Alcoholics Recovery Centre 17 years ago, is the recipient of this year's Power of One Award. Especially as this Award will enable him to extend his program and help women to recover from their addiction. Alcoholism is something most of us have been touched by at some point, and it is Brian and people such as him who should receive the accolades and honours when these are given out. Simply, thank you Brian. I am humbled and honoured to be able, along with my publisher Penguin, to contribute a small part of the help you need. Congratulations, Bryce Courtenay.”

The Power of One Australian Hero Award rewards and recognises one special person whose commitment to the greater good is an inspiration to those around them. A prize of $50,000 will be presented by Bryce Courtenay to the winner of The Power of One Australian Hero Award to assist that person to continue their work in the community. This annual award is a joint initiative between Bryce Courtenay and Penguin Books Australia.

2011 National Biography Award - Winner
16 May 2011

Grand Obsessions wins The National Biography Award

Alasdair McGregor has won the 2011 National Biography Award for his critically acclaimed book, Grand Obsessions: The Life and Work of Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony Griffin.

The National Biography Award was established in 1996 to encourage the highest standards of writing biography and autobiography and to promote public interest in these genres. The award is administered and presented by the NSW State Library on behalf of the award’s benefactors, Geoffrey Cains and Michael Crouch AO. Australia’s richest prize for biographical writing and memoir, the winner receives $20,000 in prize money.

“In a notable year for Australian biography and memoir, Grand Obsessions is as much a book about architecture as it is about two extraordinarily talented people in our history,” said Noelle Nelson, Acting NSW State Librarian & Chief Executive.

On accepting the award, Alasdair McGregor said: "I couldn't think of two more interesting, demanding and endlessly fascinating characters about whom to write."

For more information visit

2011 International Book Awards - winner
12 May 2011

Fiction: Historical Fiction

Fields of Gold by Fiona McIntosh

For more information please visit

2011 REAL Awards - shortlisted
11 May 2011

The shortlist for this year's Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards, which acts as the shortlist for children's choice book award shortlists in the ACT (COOL Awards), NSW (KOALA Awards), NT (KROC Awards) and VIC (YABBAs), has been announced.

Picture storybooks:

Enigma by Graeme Base

The Terrible Plop by Ursula Dubosarsky and Andrew Joyner

Fiction for older readers:

Specky Magee and the Best of Oz by Felice Arena and Garry Lyon

Thai-Riffic! by Oliver Phommovanh

Fiction for years 7-9:

Dancing in the Dark by Robyn Bavati

The Stone Key by Isobelle Carmody

Now by Morris Gleitzman

Girl Underground by Morris Gleitzman

RBY Awards 2011 - shortlisted
10 May 2011

Romantic Elements

At Home with the Templetons by Monica McInerney

For more information visit

The 2011 Ned Kelly Awards - Nominated
05 May 2011

Best First Fiction

The Pericles Commission  Gary Corby

Mosquito Creek  Robert Engwerda

The Old School  PM Newton

Line of Sight  David Whish-Wilson

Best Fiction

The Ghost Of Waterloo Robin Adair

The Maya Codex Adrian d'Hage

Diggers Rest Hotel Geoff McGeachin

2011 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award - shortlisted
21 Apr 2011


{ view all }
02 Sep 2015
THE RABBIT WHO WANTS TO FALL ASLEEP to be published by Penguin Random House in October 2015

Social Feed

{ }

Penguin TV

{ }


{ }