> Skip to content

News  •  29 July 2022


2022 Davitt Awards shortlist announced

The Davitt Awards recognise Australian women crime writers. See which books made the shortlist this year.

The Davitt Awards shortlist has just been announced, with three Penguin Random House titles making the list.

Presented by Sisters in Crime Australia, the award recognises the best crime books written by Australian women in an attempt to gain greater recognition for women crime writers, who are often underrepresented in the genre.

We are delighted to see four amazing PRH titles on the list this year, a wonderful acknowledgement for the brilliant authors who wrote them.

Winners will be announced 27 August 2022. In the meantime, take a look the books that made the list. Which one will you read next?

Adult crime novel


Once There Were Wolves by Charlotte McConaghy


The Silent Listener by Lyn Yeowart


Young adult crime novel


House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland


Debut crime book


The Silent Listener by Lyn Yeowart


House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland


Nonfiction crime book


Banquet: The Untold Story of Adelaide's Family Murders by Debi Marshall


Check out more crime & thriller books.

More features

See all
2022 Ned Kelly Shortlist Announced

The Ned Kelly Awards recognise and celebrate the very best crime writing has to offer. See which Penguin Random House books have been shortlisted this year...

2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

The Yield wins Kate Challis RAKA 2021 Award

A huge congratulations to Wiradjuri writer Tara June Winch on her recent achievement.

2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence longlist

We're thrilled to have 14 books featured on the longlist.

The Queen's Birthday Honours 2021

Penguin Random House authors and publisher Julie Watts recognised in this year's list.

Write It Fellowship recipients 2021

We're delighted to announce the recipients of the 2021 Write It Fellowship.

2021 Stella Prize winner announced

​We are thrilled to share The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld has won the 2021 Stella Prize!

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We're thrilled to reveal the shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

Sophie Overett Q&A

The Penguin Literary Prize winner on inspiration, advice and what's next.

2021 ABIA winners

Vivian Pham and Penguin Random House honoured in Australian Book Industry Awards.

Looking for more news?

See all news