> Skip to content

News  •  16 December 2019


2019 Voss Literary Prize

​Tim Winton has won the 2019 Voss Literary Prize for his novel The Shepherd's Hut.

We are thrilled to announce that Tim Winton has won the 2019 Voss Literary Prize for The Shepherd's Hut.

The Voss Literary Prize is awarded to the best novel published in Australia in the previous year, and is dedicated to the memory of historian Vivian Robert Le Vaux Voss. The award is managed by the Australian University Heads of English, the peak body for the study of English at Australian universities.

On winning the 2019 Voss Literary Prize, Winton said, ‘It’s a delightful surprise to learn my book has been honoured with this award. I know it’s a bit rude not to show up, and a bit of a shame as well, because the prospect of an evening in Wollongong sounds rather appealing just now, but once again I find myself stuck on the wrong side of the wrong country in the wrong hemisphere keeping what will no doubt prove to be the wrong company. A certain member of my family suggested The Shepherd's Hut would never win favour because of its rather coarse language. I’m so happy to learn that social standards in this country are low enough to prove even my closest supporters wrong. Thank you, judges. Thank you, Jaxie.’

The Shepherd's Hut was selected from a shortlist of six, including The Making of Martin Sparrow by Peter Cochrane. 

The Shepherd's Hut Tim Winton

A rifle-shot of a novel – crisp, fast, shocking – The Shepherd’s Hut is an urgent masterpiece about solitude, unlikely friendship, and the raw business of survival.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
New novel from Tim Winton

Tim Winton’s new novel The Shepherd’s Hut acquired by Penguin Random House Australia (ANZ)

Designing The Shepherd's Hut

Tim Winton on that cover.

Book clubs
The Shepherd’s Hut book club notes

Explore Tim Winton’s themes of lost boys and toxic masculinity with your book club.

Tim Winton fan questions

The Cloudstreet author answers his fans’ Facebook questions.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

Penguin Literary Prize 2020 winner announced

And the winner is... Sophie Overett!

Bluey: the Beach wins 2020 ABIA Book of the Year

For the first time, a children’s picture book has won the Australian Book Industry Awards prestigious Book of the Year prize.

2020 ABIAs shortlist

Winners to be announced on Wednesday 13 May.

2020 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

Tara June Winch has won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the Book of the Year.

Stella Prize 2020 shortlist announced

Penguin Random House authors Caro Llewellyn and Tara June Winch have been shortlisted for the 2020 Stella Prize. 

Announcing the shortlist for the 2020 Indie Book Awards

Winners will be revealed on 23 March 2020.

Looking for more news?

See all news