> Skip to content

News  •  4 December 2019


Announcing the longlist for the 2020 Indie Book Awards

Winners to be announced 23 March 2020.

A huge congratulations to the Penguin Random House authors longlisted for the 2020 Indie Book Awards.

Fiction Longlist

Non-Fiction Longlist

Debut Fiction Longlist

Illustrated Non-Fiction Longlist

Children's Longlist

The shortlist will be announced on 15 January 2020, and the category winners and overall book of the year will be announced at the Leading Edge Books conference in Brisbane on 23 March 2020.

Since the Awards inception twelve years ago, the Indies have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Previous winners include: The Bush by Don Watson; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; All That I Am by Anna Funder; and Breath by Tim Winton.

Congratulations again to all authors longlisted.

Looking for more news?

See all news