> Skip to content



Penguin Authors Receive 2019 Australian of the Year Honours

Four Penguin Random House Australia authors have been honoured at the 2019 Australian of the Year awards.

Penguin Random House Australia congratulates all State & Territory Recipients for the 2019 Australian of the Year. We are immensely proud of our authors – present and future – who appear on the list and we feel privileged to publish their stories.


Mr Kurt Fearnley AO

'Representing Australia over a 20-year wheelchair-racing career, Kurt Fearnley AO has captured the hearts of the nation. Winning thirteen medals across five Paralympic games, Kurt now champions the rights of people with disability and advocates for greater access into communities and workplaces. Kurt’s determination and success are an inspiration.'

Pushing the Limits: Life, Marathons & Kokoda by Kurt Fearnley


Mr Michael Long

'Darwin born, Michael Long uses his voice as an Australian Rules Football icon to fight against racism. In 2004, Michael embarked on ‘The Long Walk’ from his home in Melbourne to Canberra and established the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Centre in Darwin to put Indigenous issues on the national agenda.'

The Short Long Book: A Portrait of Michael Long, the Man Who Changed the Australian Game by Martin Flanagan


Mr Craig Challen SC OAM

'In June 2018, cave diver Craig Challen was about to go on holiday, when he was asked to help on a rescue mission in Thailand. Craig helped rescue a soccer team of 12 boys and their coach from flooded Thailand caves, receiving the Star of Courage for his selfless bravery.'


Dr Richard Harris SC OAM

'In July 2018, anaesthetist and cave-diver Dr Richard Harris joined an international team to rescue 12 boys and their soccer coach from a flooded cave in Thailand. He risked his life swimming through the narrow cave system to assist with the rescue, giving the all-clear for them to be evacuated.'

Other News

Write It Fellowship Recipients 2019

Penguin Random House is thrilled to announce the recipients of the inaugural Write It Fellowship.

Bluey books arrive November

Penguin Random House and BBC Studios are delighted to announce that the Bluey publishing program will launch with three carefully chosen titles, including two storybooks and one activity book, which will hit Australian book stores on 5 November 2019

Looking for more news?

See All News