> Skip to content


Young readers » Series » Brotherband


Set in the same universe as Ranger’s Apprentice, Brotherband follows the seafaring Skandians and the difficulties of a life trapped between the icy mountains and cold northern seas.

While there is a slight crossover between locations and characters between Brotherband and Ranger’s Apprentice, the series can easily be read as an introduction to John Flanagan’s writing. Set a year or two before Ranger’s Apprentice 10, the series offers the same excitement and adventure but with a few new components and characters. Loosely based on Vikings, the book follows groups of boys who practice and learn together over an intense and painful three months as they become a Brotherband. And as they become men.  

Related series

Book List
Ranger's Apprentice

Orphan Will is an apprentice Ranger who strives to keep the Kingdom of Araluen safe from invaders, traitors and threats.

Book List
Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger

A ranger's work is never done.

Book List
Ranger's Apprentice: The Early Years

Before they became the most famous Ranger in the land and the hard-working Ranger Commandant, Halt and Crowley were young friends determined to change the world.

Brotherband content

6 things John Flanagan wants readers to know about the Brotherband books

John Flanagan shares the inside scoop on his bestselling fantasy series, Brotherband.

Brotherband 7: The Caldera

Enter the world of Brotherband, the bestselling series by John Flanagan.

Brotherband 1

Wolfwind emerged from the pre-dawn sea mist like a wraith slowly taking physical form.

For exclusive content, Q&As and more, sign up for our Ranger's Apprentice newsletter here or follow along on Facebook