> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 March 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552172387
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

The Incendium Plot




For readers of C J Sansom and S J Parris, and fans of the BBC drama 'Gunpowder' starring 'Game of Thrones' Kit Harrington - The Incendium Plot is a tense historical thriller set against a backdrop of treason and terror in Elizabethan England . . .

'A fantastic tale of spies, deceit and murder in the Elizabethan age' S. D. Sykes

England in 1572 is a powder keg of rumour, fanaticism, treachery and dissent. All it would take is a single spark . . .

In the England of Elizabeth I, the fear of plague and invasion, and the threat of insurrection are constant. As the Earl of Leicester's chief intelligencer, lawyer Dr Christopher Radcliff is tasked with investigating rumours of treachery at home and the papist threat from abroad. And with heresy and religious unrest simmering beneath the surface of a country on the brink, Radcliff is under pressure to get results.

Then two brutal and seemingly motiveless killings point alert Radcliff to the whisper of a new plot against the queen. There are few clues, and all he and his network of agents have to go on is a single word: incendium. But what does it mean - and who lies behind it? Christopher Radcliff must find out before it's too late . . .

(Please note: The Incendium Plot was first published in hardback as Incendium)

  • Published: 15 March 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552172387
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

A D Swanston

Andrew Swanston read law at Cambridge, but was inspired to write by his lifelong interest in early modern history. His Thomas Hill novels – The King’s Spy, The King’s Exile and The King’s Return – are set against the backdrops of the English Civil War, Cromwell’s Commonwealth and the early Restoration respectively. He is also the author of Waterloo: The Bravest Man and Beautiful Star and Other Stories. His first historical thriller set during the reign of Elizabeth I – Incendium (published in paperback as The Incendium Plot) – introduced readers to the academic, lawyer and intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff, whose adventures continue in Chaos. Andrew Swanston lives in Surrey.

Also by A D Swanston

See all

Related titles