> Skip to content
A D Swanston
Photo Credit: © Brian Houghton

A D Swanston

Book for an event

Andrew Swanston read law at Cambridge, but was inspired to write by his lifelong interest in early modern history. His Thomas Hill novels – The King’s Spy, The King’s Exile and The King’s Return – are set against the backdrops of the English Civil War, Cromwell’s Commonwealth and the early Restoration respectively. He is also the author of Waterloo: The Bravest Man. The first in a new series of historical thrillers set during the reign of Elizabeth I, Incendium (published in paperback as The Incendium Plot) introduces academic, lawyer and intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff. Andrew Swanston lives in Surrey.

Books by A D Swanston

Chaos

For readers of C J Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements, this tense historical thriller is set against the backdrop of treason, terror and civil unrest in Elizabethan England and marks the return of intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff . . .

Read more
The Incendium Plot

For readers of C J Sansom and S J Parris, and fans of the BBC drama 'Gunpowder' starring 'Game of Thrones' Kit Harrington - The Incendium Plot is a tense historical thriller set against a backdrop of treason and terror in Elizabethan England . . .

Read more