> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 23 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9781473526884
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

The Incendium Plot




For readers of C J Sansom and S J Parris, and fans of the BBC drama 'Gunpowder' starring 'Game of Thrones' Kit Harrington - The Incendium Plot is a tense historical thriller set against a backdrop of treason and terror in Elizabethan England . . .

'A fantastic tale of spies, deceit and murder in the Elizabethan age' S. D. Sykes

England in 1572 is a powder keg of rumour, fanaticism, treachery and dissent. All it would take is a single spark . . .

In the England of Elizabeth I, the fear of plague and invasion, and the threat of insurrection are constant. As the Earl of Leicester's chief intelligencer, lawyer Dr Christopher Radcliff is tasked with investigating rumours of treachery at home and the papist threat from abroad. And with heresy and religious unrest simmering beneath the surface of a country on the brink, Radcliff is under pressure to get results.

Then two brutal and seemingly motiveless killings point alert Radcliff to the whisper of a new plot against the queen. There are few clues, and all he and his network of agents have to go on is a single word: incendium. But what does it mean - and who lies behind it? Christopher Radcliff must find out before it's too late . . .

(Please note: The Incendium Plot was first published in hardback as Incendium)

  • Pub date: 23 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9781473526884
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the Author

A D Swanston

Andrew Swanston read law at Cambridge, but was inspired to write by his lifelong interest in early modern history. His Thomas Hill novels – The King’s Spy, The King’s Exile and The King’s Return – are set against the backdrops of the English Civil War, Cromwell’s Commonwealth and the early Restoration respectively. He is also the author of Waterloo: The Bravest Man. The first in a new series of historical thrillers set during the reign of Elizabeth I, Incendium (published in paperback as The Incendium Plot) introduces academic, lawyer and intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff. Andrew Swanston lives in Surrey.

Also by A D Swanston

See all

Praise for The Incendium Plot

“A fantastic tale of spies, deceit and murder in the Elizabethan age”

S. D. SYKES

“Lawyer Christopher Radcliff is an erudite outsider with an unusual past, who turns state spy in this colourful and gripping historical novel.”

i-NEWSPAPER

“Swanston clearly knows the period well and Radcliff is an engaging hero”

Antonia Senior, THE TIMES

“Radcliff is a wonderful character, resourceful and intelligent . . . perfectly combines history and fiction . . . I loved every page”

Kate Atherton, FOR WINTER NIGHTS

“Beautifully done. All the sights, sounds and smells of Elizabethan England are there, along with an intriguing range of characters . . . Radcliff is clearly destined to appear in future books, and I think he's likely to gain some loyal fans”

HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW

“Beautifully evokes the grimy and filthy streets of Elizabethan London and the plot canters along from the very first page . . . I cannot wait for the next one.”

MADHATTER

“A colourful and gripping read . . . you can almost smell the filthy Tudor River Thames”

YORKSHIRE POST

“Historical fiction has never been hotter, and fans of S J Parris and Rory Clements will gulp it down in one.”

COMPASS magazine

“I loved it . . . refreshing, engaging and never faltered from the first page to the last.”

RAMBLING REVIEWER

“Really rich and beautifully written . . . if you’re a fan of Swanston’s other books, you’re going to absolutely love this.”

BIBLIOPHILE CHRONICLES


Related titles