> Skip to content
  • Published: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473540644
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

The Blackbirder

A captivating and thrilling adventure set on the high seas

More thrilling adventures for Captain Thomas Marlowe on the high seas.

Bestselling author James Nelson brings us another gripping and absorbing maritime adventure. Perfect for readers of Julian Stockwin, CS Forester and Alexander Kent.

"Brilliant...Readers will gladly be swept along by a wonderful plot" -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
"A master both of his period and of the English language" -- PATRICK O'BRIAN
"Many threads, at sea and at home, combine to make this a thrilling, un-put-downable period story." -- ***** Reader review
"It is difficult to put this book down right from the start" -- ***** Reader review
"A terrifically exciting adventure!" -- ***** Reader review


Thomas Marlowe, former pirate and captain of the Guardship, lives prosperously on his tobacco plantation near Williamsburg with his lovely wife Elizabeth.
But when King James, the huge ex-slave who is in command of Marlowe's sloop, kills the crew of a slaveship - a blackbirder - and makes himself the most wanted man in Virginia, Marlowe is forced to go and hunt him down.

Setting off in pursuit of the blackbirder, struggling to maintain control over his crew - rough privateers, set only on plunder - Marlowe follows James's trail of destruction all the way to the shores of Africa.

There, in the slave port of Whydah, James and Marlowe face a common threat - and their final showdown.

The Blackbirder is the second book of the Brethren of the Coast trilogy. Marlowe's story continues in The Pirate Round. Have you read The Guardship, the first adventure of the trilogy?

  • Published: 30 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473540644
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

About the author

James Nelson

James Nelson has served as a seaman, rigger, boatswain and officer on a number of sailing vessels. His novel Glory in the Name: A Novel of the Confederate Navy was the winner of the American Library Association's 2004 W.Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction. He is also the author of the five books comprising The Revolution at SeaSaga and The Brethren of the Coast trilogy. His first non-fiction book is Reign of Iron: The Story of the First Battling Ironclads, the Monitor and the Merrimack. He lives with his wife and children in Maine.

His web site can be found at: www.jameslnelson.com

Also by James Nelson

See all

Praise for The Blackbirder

'A master of both his period and of the English language'

Patrick O'Brian

'A swashbuckling yarn...If Errol Flynn was still alive, there'd be a movie here'

Bournemouth Daily Echo

Related titles