> Skip to content
  • Published: 17 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143784586
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

Secrets of the Springs

Amidst the haunting beauty of the Australian bush, family secrets unravel and a courageous woman's journey home becomes a thrilling quest for truth, love, and the untamed power of the land.

Reluctant Homecoming

When Orla Macrae receives a letter asking her to return to the family cattle property where she grew up, she does so grudgingly. Her estranged uncle Palmer may be dying, but he is the last person she wants to see, not when she’s made a new life far away from where she lost so much.

A Chance for Redemption

On his deathbed he utters a few enigmatic words about a secret locked away and a clue as to its whereabouts.

Intrigued, Orla decides to stay, reconnecting with old friends and taking a chance on a long-time dream of opening the homestead to tourists.

Unearthing Family Secrets

Continuing the search for her uncle’s elusive secret, she discovers far more than she bargained for – a shocking truth about her parents’ marriage, and the confession of a chilling murder.

Set in the stunning countryside north of the Barrier Ranges near Broken Hill, this is an authentic tale of life on the land and a gripping mystery about old family secrets and finding love in the harsh Australian bush.


Praise for Kerry McGinnis

"McGinnis is a natural storyteller with a deep understanding of life on the land." - The Weekly Times

"McGinnis has the eye of a painter; she writes as she sees and the land comes alive." - Weekend Australian

"Anything McGinnis writes begs to be read aloud around a campfire." - Country Style


Additional Books by Kerry McGinnis

Expand your collection with these captivating novels from Kerry McGinnis:
*Bloodwood Creek
*Gathering Storms
*The Missing Girl
*Croc Country
*The Roadhouse
*The Heartwood Hotel
*Secrets of the Springs
*Out of Alice
*Tracking North
*Wildhorse Creek
*Mallee Sky
*The Waddi Tree

Experience the captivating narratives and immersive landscapes of Kerry McGinnis's books. Order now!

  • Published: 17 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143784586
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Kerry McGinnis

Kerry McGinnis was born in Adelaide and at the age of twelve took up a life of droving with her father and four siblings. The family travelled extensively across the Northern Territory and Queensland before settling on a station in the Gulf Country. Kerry has worked as a shepherd, droving hand, gardener and stock-camp and station cook on the family property, Bowthorn, north-west of Mount Isa. She is the author of two volumes of memoir, Pieces of Blue and Heart Country, and the bestselling novels The Waddi Tree, Wildhorse Creek, Mallee Sky, Tracking North, Out of Alice, Secrets of the Springs, The Heartwood Hotel, The Roadhouse, Croc Country, The Missing Girl and Gathering Storms. Kerry now lives in Bundaberg and was awarded the Order of the Outback in 2022 for her work in promoting the bush.

Also by Kerry McGinnis

See all