> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 15 June 2022
  • ISBN: 9781761046902
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

Gathering Storms

Set against the stunning backdrop of the Gulf country’s monsoon season, this is a dramatic story of betrayal and forgiveness from bestselling author and Australia’s authentic voice of the land.

An Unexpected Arrival

Penny Carter's quiet life in Southbend, running a nursery with her ex father-in-law, is turned upside down when Lisa, the young daughter of her late husband, is unexpectedly deposited on her doorstep. The unwelcome houseguest stirs up more than just memories of Penny's husband's betrayal, when a cyclone leads to the discovery of a skeleton buried next to the town cemetery.

Unearthed Secrets

As the mystery around the unsettling discovery grows, Penny, supported by her enigmatic neighbour Flint, begins to question everything she thought she knew about her own childhood and her mother's death. Family secrets long thought buried come bubbling to the surface, as other shocking revelations see Penny and Lisa in an ultimate race for survival.

Rains and Revelations

But what other secrets will the Wet season uncover, while the whole town is cut off from the rest of the world?

Praise for Kerry McGinnis

"McGinnis is a natural storyteller with a deep understanding of life on the land." - The Weekly Times

"McGinnis has the eye of a painter; she writes as she sees and the land comes alive." - Weekend Australian

"Anything McGinnis writes begs to be read aloud around a campfire." - Country Style


Additional Books by Kerry McGinnis

Expand your collection with these captivating novels from Kerry McGinnis:

*Bloodwood Creek
*Gathering Storms
*The Missing Girl
*Croc Country
*The Roadhouse
*The Heartwood Hotel
*Secrets of the Springs
*Out of Alice
*Tracking North
*Wildhorse Creek
*Mallee Sky
*The Waddi Tree

Experience the captivating narratives and immersive landscapes of Kerry McGinnis's books. Order now!

  • Published: 15 June 2022
  • ISBN: 9781761046902
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Kerry McGinnis

Kerry McGinnis was born in Adelaide and at the age of twelve took up a life of droving with her father and four siblings. The family travelled extensively across the Northern Territory and Queensland before settling on a station in the Gulf Country. Kerry has worked as a shepherd, droving hand, gardener and stock-camp and station cook on the family property, Bowthorn, north-west of Mount Isa. She is the author of two volumes of memoir, Pieces of Blue and Heart Country, and the bestselling novels The Waddi Tree, Wildhorse Creek, Mallee Sky, Tracking North, Out of Alice, Secrets of the Springs, The Heartwood Hotel, The Roadhouse, Croc Country, The Missing Girl and Gathering Storms. Kerry now lives in Bundaberg and was awarded the Order of the Outback in 2022 for her work in promoting the bush.

Also by Kerry McGinnis

See all

Discover more

10 exciting new thriller books released this year

Love thrillers? Check out some of the best new thriller books of 2022.