> Skip to content
  • Published: 2 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143789048
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

The Heartwood Hotel

Discover the treacherous depths hidden beneath the charm of a small outback town, where loyalty and deception collide in this gripping rural mystery.

‘The Heartwood is the core of this district. It always has been so, but it’s still just a building. It’s your family – you and Adam and old Tiger – who animate it, keep the heart beating, so to speak.’

Holding on in Tewinga

In the abandoned railhead town of Tewinga, now almost a ghost town, Lyn and Adam Portman struggle to keep the Heartwood Hotel afloat. Lyn loves her husband and longs to be a mother. But she’s kept busy caring for her elderly father, her community, and Max, the young worker who reminds her of the brother she’s lost and dearly misses.

Mysteries and Concerns

When he fails to return from a day trip, Lyn’s concern deepens as the length of his absence grows, the more so with rumours of criminal activity at a nearby station. Meanwhile, a chance meeting uncovers a family bombshell that leaves Lyn reeling.

Resilience and Revelations

The community must pull together as never before, proving that sometimes the smallest towns have the biggest hearts – and hide the darkest secrets.

From the bestselling author of Secrets of the Springs, this is another captivating outback mystery from Australia’s authentic rural writer and beloved voice of the bush.


Praise for Kerry McGinnis

"McGinnis is a natural storyteller with a deep understanding of life on the land." - The Weekly Times

"McGinnis has the eye of a painter; she writes as she sees and the land comes alive." - Weekend Australian

"Anything McGinnis writes begs to be read aloud around a campfire." - Country Style


Additional Books by Kerry McGinnis

Expand your collection with these captivating novels from Kerry McGinnis:
*Bloodwood Creek
*Gathering Storms
*The Missing Girl
*Croc Country
*The Roadhouse
*The Heartwood Hotel
*Secrets of the Springs
*Out of Alice
*Tracking North
*Wildhorse Creek
*Mallee Sky
*The Waddi Tree

Experience the captivating narratives and immersive landscapes of Kerry McGinnis's books. Order now!

  • Published: 2 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143789048
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Kerry McGinnis

Kerry McGinnis was born in Adelaide and at the age of twelve took up a life of droving with her father and four siblings. The family travelled extensively across the Northern Territory and Queensland before settling on a station in the Gulf Country. Kerry has worked as a shepherd, droving hand, gardener and stock-camp and station cook on the family property, Bowthorn, north-west of Mount Isa. She is the author of two volumes of memoir, Pieces of Blue and Heart Country, and the bestselling novels The Waddi Tree, Wildhorse Creek, Mallee Sky, Tracking North, Out of Alice, Secrets of the Springs, The Heartwood Hotel, The Roadhouse, Croc Country, The Missing Girl and Gathering Storms. Kerry now lives in Bundaberg and was awarded the Order of the Outback in 2022 for her work in promoting the bush.

Also by Kerry McGinnis

See all