> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 January 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448177837
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528
Categories:

Orphan Girl




A family saga for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn

She's no more than an unpaid servant...

Lorinda is only a child when tragedy deprives her of her true family and, sent to live with her aunt in her boarding house, she grows up desperately craving affection.

And although she finds friendship – and even love – in the boarding house, she finally sees a chance to escape her drab surroundings and unkind family. But is a marriage of convenience better than a love that's true?

(Note: previously published as Lorinda Leigh)

  • Pub date: 1 January 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448177837
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles