> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 22 October 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448177899
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368
Categories:

Workhouse Child




A warm-hearted 'rags-to-riches' saga for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn


All she wants is a family of her own...

Lottie is just three years old when her Mammy dies and she is sent to the workhouse. A childhood spent in poverty, skivvying for other people, leaves her with no prospects, no family...

Yet Lottie is bright and has ambitions for a better life. And when an opportunity arises at the local Chapel, Lottie seizes her chance. But will she ever be anything more than a workhouse child?

  • Pub date: 22 October 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448177899
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles