> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 April 2017
  • ISBN: 9780091956233
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $14.99

The Coal Miner's Daughter


Formats & editions


A gripping family saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin

A wealthy landlord’s son, and a coal miner’s daughter…

Growing up in poverty, one of six siblings, Hannah Armstrong never thought she’d know anything other than her little mining town. But then she falls for Timothy Durkin, a wealthy Oxford student…

Following her heart, Hannah sacrifices everything she holds dear and follows her new husband to Oxford. But will her new life of luxury be everything she expected - or will she find that once a coal miner's daughter, always a coal miner's daughter..?

  • Pub date: 15 April 2017
  • ISBN: 9780091956233
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles