> Skip to content
  • Published: 17 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9781405921732
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Nightfall Berlin

'For those who enjoy vintage Le Carre' Ian Rankin




Rich, atmospheric Cold War thriller for fans of Joseph Kanon and Tom Rob Smith

In 1986, news that East-West nuclear-arms negotiations are taking place lead many to believe the Cold War may finally be thawing.

For British intelligence officer Major Tom Fox, however, it is business as usual.

Ordered to arrange the smooth repatriation of a defector, Fox is smuggled into East Berlin. But it soon becomes clear that there is more to this than an old man wishing to return home to die - a fact cruelly confirmed when Fox's mission is fatally compromised.

Trapped in East Berlin, hunted by an army of Stasi agents and wanted for murder by those on both sides of the Wall, Fox must somehow elude capture and get out alive.

But to do so he must discover who sabotaged his mission and why...

Nightfall Berlin is a tense, atmospheric and breathtaking thriller that drops you deep into the icy heard of the Cold War.

  • Published: 17 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9781405921732
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Also by Jack Grimwood

See all

Praise for Nightfall Berlin

Nightfall Berlin is just fabulous. So atmospheric, so elegantly written. The character, Major Tom Fox is intriguing... like Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, or like early le Carre. I really recommend it. I just disappeared into it totally.

Marian Keyes

A gripping Cold War thriller where life hangs by a thread. Dark secrets from the lawless rubble of WW2 threaten world peace and the family of British spy Tom Fox. After the success of Moskva, Grimwood works his magic on the grey but edgy streets of East Berlin. A powerful, addictive, twisty tale where no-one can be trusted.

David Young, author of <i>Stasi Child</i>

Spring's best thriller

Observer

A fine book this, for those who enjoy vintage Le Carre

</i>Ian Rankin

Note-perfect ... Jack Grimwood is about to become your new favourite thriller writer

Independent

An extraordinarily atmospheric and immersive read ... escapism at its best

Good Housekeeping

The rejuvenation of the espionage thriller continues apace with Nightfall Berlin

Guardian

A book that pulls you in, teaches you something and gives you a protagonist you can't get enough of ... If you liked Ian McEwan's The Innocent, you'll love this evocation of Berlin at the other end of the Cold War

The Pool

A gripping Cold War tale that manages to be original as well as give a nod to classic John Le Carre

The Sun

A twisty tale of Cold War conflict, which sees tormented intelligence officer Tom Fox caught up in a dark story of establishment lies and long-buried secrets

The Independent

The thriller of the summer ... Grimwood raises the stakes in this dark, twisty tale of Cold War conflict

iPaper

The atmosphere and tension perfectly pitched this excellent Cold War thriller with memorable well-drawn characters is compulsive reading

Choice Magazine

The superior spy thriller of the year. Le Carré fans will be delighted

Amanda Craig

Moskva was one of the most impressive spy thrillers of 2016 . . . Nightfall Berlin is even better. Grimwood's portrayal of dark and frightening East Berlin is excellent and he is skilful at describing the politics of espionage

The Times

The new Le Carre . . . an absolutely brilliant page turner . . . if you love thrillers, Jack Grimwood is a name you need to remember

BBC Radio 2 The Sara Cox Show

A compulsive and supremely intelligent thriller from a master stylist

Michael Marshall, author of The Straw Men

Conjures up the city so vividly that you can almost touch the place

SFX

Even better than Child 44 . . . A blizzard of exciting set pieces, superbly realized

Daily Telegraph

Grimwood is a damned fine writer

Independent

Mesmerising, surefooted, vividly realised . . . something special in the arena of international thrillers

Financial Times

The writing is elegant, the dialogue razor sharp, the characters drawn economically but effectively, and the action is unrelenting

SciFi Now

Related titles