> Skip to content
  • Published: 3 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9781405921718
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Moskva

'The new Le Carre' BBC Radio 2 The Sara Cox Show




Seven meets Deutschland 83 in this outstanding serial killer thriller for fans of Gorky Park or Child 44

Christmas Eve 1985. The shaved, blood-drained body of a young man is found in Red Square; frozen solid - like marble to the touch - and missing the little finger from his right hand.

A week later, Alex Marston, the fifteen-year-old daughter of the British Ambassador, disappears. Army Intelligence Officer, Tom Fox, posted to Moscow to keep him from telling the truth to a government committee, is asked to help find her. It's a shot at redemption.

But as Fox's investigation drags him deeper towards the dark heart of the Soviet establishment, his fears for Alex's safety grow as it looks like she could become a sadistic killer's next victim.

  • Published: 3 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9781405921718
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Also by Jack Grimwood

See all

Praise for Moskva

Tom Fox is well drawn, the action scenes are filled with energy and tension, but the real hero of Moskva is Russia itself, bleak, corrupt, falling apart, but with an incurable humanity

Tom Callaghan

A compulsive and supremely intelligent thriller from a master stylist

Michael Marshall

A first-rate thriller - Moskva grips from the very first page. Heartily recommended

William Ryan

Hard to know what to praise first here: the operatic sweep of this mesmerising novel; the surefooted orchestration of tension; or the vividly realised sense of time and place; all of these factors mark Jack Grimwood's Moskva out as something special in the arena of international thrillers

Barry Forshaw, Financial Times

Like the city herself, Jack Grimwood's Moskva is richly layered, stylish, beautifully constructed, and full of passion beneath the chills. Part political thriller, part historical novel, part a story of personal redemptions, Moskva cements Jack Grimwood as a powerful new voice in thriller writing. Not to be missed.

Sarah Pinborough

Memorable characters, powerful recreations of history and an unrelenting pace that will keep you breathless. A striking début in the genre.

Maxim Jakubowski

A sublime writer . . . I felt glimmers of Le Carré shining through the prose.

CrimeSquad

Given that the definitive thriller in 1980's Moscow already exists (Martin Cruz Smith's Gorky Park), Jack Grimwood's Moskva looks like a crazy gamble. But it's one that comes off . . .

Sunday Times

Even better than Child 44

Telegraph

Related titles