> Skip to content
  • Published: 28 August 2017
  • ISBN: 9781760142599
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 192


The next powerful episode in the life of Felix, hero of Morris Gleitzman’s multi-award-winning Once, Then, Now, After and Soon.

1946. Europe is in ruins. Millions of people dream of finding happiness somewhere else.

Fourteen-year-old Felix is one of them. When he’s offered a journey to somewhere far away, he seizes the opportunity. So does someone very dear to him, even though she wasn’t actually invited.

They have high hopes for their new land, and their dramatic arrival there makes them want to stay. But before Felix and Anya can embrace the love and friendship of their new world, they must confront the murderous urge for revenge still alive in the old.

Felix knows he hasn’t faced anything like this before.

He may not survive, but he’s hoping he will.


  • Published: 28 August 2017
  • ISBN: 9781760142599
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 192

Other books in the series

About the author

Morris Gleitzman

Morris Gleitzman grew up in England and came to Australia when he was sixteen. After university he worked for ten years as a screenwriter. Then he had a wonderful experience. He wrote a novel for young people. Now, after 42 books, he’s one of Australia’s most popular authors. He was appointed the Australian Children’s Laureate for 2018–2019.

Also by Morris Gleitzman

See all

Awards & recognition

Australian Book Industry Awards

Longlisted  •  2018  •  Book of the Year for Younger Children

Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards

Shortlisted  •  2018  •  8–10 Years

REAL Children's Choice Awards

Shortlisted  •  2019  •  Fiction for Years 7–9

WAYBRA Children's Choice Awards

Shortlisted  •  2019  •  Older Readers

Discover more

Binge-worthy books: the ten best kids' series that will keep on giving

Just like a good TV show, a beloved book series can lift our mood. Here are some of the best for kids.

Teachers' notes

Related titles