> Skip to content

Fill your summer chill time with our highly recommended reads.

As summer heats up, there’s no better way to chill out than with a good book. Whether you’re looking to escape, catch up on the books you missed in 2019 or discover something new, we’ve got titles to tantalise, captivate and inspire. Make 2020 the summer you chill with a Penguin.

  • A fierce, emotional, contemporary novel about the pursuit of a meaningful life: three women think they can have it all. But soon they realise that even having some of it can be a challenge. For fans of Zadie Smith, Sheila Heti and Sally Rooney.

  • Electrifying and audacious, an unmissable new novel from the twice-Man Booker-shortlisted author of Hot Milk.

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • Richly atmospheric American debut about lost innocence and life on the ragged margins of society.

  • The New York Times bestselling debut novel from the prize-winning prodigy

  • From the creator of the Walkley Award-winning podcast comes the story of a small Australian town, the murders of three children and a desperate fight for justice.

  • Intimate portraits of people who love what they do

  • On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then sat on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of The Tall Man, is the story of that man, the fire he lit, and the people who were killed.

  • The day that turns a life upside down usually starts like any other, but what happens the day after? Dual Walkley Award-winner Leigh Sales investigates how ordinary people endure the unthinkable.

  • A powerful, richly layered investigative story for our times, drawing on the personal stories of the author and other women who have been drawn into relationships based on duplicity and false hope.

  • Marian Keyes meets Love Actually in this fresh, funny and gloriously romantic Australian novel that has sold all around the world.

More Book Lists

Corridors of Satire

Politicians: if you can’t defeat them, at least you can laugh at them.

Minimal Fuss Cookbooks

Make something yum with a little help from your favourite chefs.

Comfort Reads

Stories to wrap you up cosy and warm, like a pair of old socks.

Armchair Travel

International borders may be closed for now, but there are still no limits on the imagination.

At Home with the Classics

Tackle the classics you’ve been putting off forever.

Always Reading

With audiobooks you can keep reading, even when you’re not.