> Skip to content

Stories of people at the intersection of life and death.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, nothing can be certain but death and taxes. And while we forensically explore the latter on an annual or quarterly basis, the former remains one of life’s enigmas. Insights into, explanations of and approaches to our deaths remain the jurisdiction of personal belief systems and religious teaching. But when we share the stories of the dying and those close to them, we gain unique perspective into life’s greatest leveller. Here are some viewpoints from the cusp.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness

  • For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, an intensive care doctor becomes a dying patient in her own hospital in this gripping memoir of unbearable loss, which calls for medical professionals to see patients as human beings, not just as a diagnosis.

  • The witty but compelling story of one man's view of his cancer and its treatment which became an instant bestseller on its publication.

  • Leslie Kean offers an impeccably researched investigation of the existence of reincarnation, near-death experiences, psychic abilities, and things that go bump in the night in Surviving Death

More Book Lists

Science Future

Books by the experts and explainers daring to imagine what comes next.

Fashion Forward

Books that celebrate fashion as so much more than the clothes we wear.

Spy Stories

Enter cut-throat worlds of intelligence gathering and deceit.

Boredom Busters

Activity books to keep the kids occupied this school holidays.

Shop. Click. Win!

Enter now for the chance to win!

Look Closely

Test your deductive powers against some of the world’s tangliest crime fiction.