> Skip to content

Stories of people at the intersection of life and death.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, nothing can be certain but death and taxes. And while we forensically explore the latter on an annual or quarterly basis, the former remains one of life’s enigmas. Insights into, explanations of and approaches to our deaths remain the jurisdiction of personal belief systems and religious teaching. But when we share the stories of the dying and those close to them, we gain unique perspective into life’s greatest leveller. Here are some viewpoints from the cusp.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness

  • A compelling call to arms for a more empathetic practice of medicine, from the intensive care doctor who nearly died as a patient in her own hospital.

  • The witty but compelling story of one man's view of his cancer and its treatment which became an instant bestseller on its publication.

  • Leslie Kean offers an impeccably researched investigation of the existence of reincarnation, near-death experiences, psychic abilities, and things that go bump in the night in Surviving Death

  • An inspiring memoir by a young mother with Stage Four metastatic cancer, The Unwinding of the Miracle challenges the way we write and talk about death and demands you contemplate your own fragility, relationships, and how you live your one precious life.

More Book Lists

Cop Stories

Tales from the other side of the thin blue line.

On the Case

Thrill Mum this Mother's Day with the latest releases.

LEGO Masters

Are you Australia's next top LEGO builder? Here's our top picks to inspire you further, after watching Nine's new blockbuster series, LEGO Masters.

Jackson Brodie’s Case History

Get to know Kate Atkinson’s lovable rogue investigator.

Broken English

Celebrate English Language Day with the books that defy the conventions.

Happy Earth Day

Raising global awareness today; helping us fortify tomorrow.