> Skip to content

Stories of people at the intersection of life and death.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, nothing can be certain but death and taxes. And while we forensically explore the latter on an annual or quarterly basis, the former remains one of life’s enigmas. Insights into, explanations of and approaches to our deaths remain the jurisdiction of personal belief systems and religious teaching. But when we share the stories of the dying and those close to them, we gain unique perspective into life’s greatest leveller. Here are some viewpoints from the cusp.

  • An astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness

  • The witty but compelling story of one man's view of his cancer and its treatment which became an instant bestseller on its publication.

  • An inspiring memoir by a young mother with Stage Four metastatic cancer, The Unwinding of the Miracle challenges the way we write and talk about death and demands you contemplate your own fragility, relationships, and how you live your one precious life.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • A compelling call to arms for a more empathetic practice of medicine, from the intensive care doctor who nearly died as a patient in her own hospital.

  • Leslie Kean offers an impeccably researched investigation of the existence of reincarnation, near-death experiences, psychic abilities, and things that go bump in the night in Surviving Death

  • Benjamin Gilmour has been a paramedic for the past twenty years. He has seen his fair share of drama. But the summer of 2008 remains etched in his memory for the very worst reasons.

More Book Lists

Dad Deserves The Best

Let DK make gifting easy this Father's Day with an amazing array of titles.

Barack Obama's 2019 Summer Reading List

Barack Obama shares the books he read (and loved) this summer.

Breaking the Banks

Economics, and how individual financial stories intersect with global movements.

Books for One-of-a-kind Dads

Honour your Dad’s individuality this Father’s Day with a gift from the heart.

Fur-midable Feline Fiesta

Celebrate International Cat Day – 8 August – with some im-paw-sibly fabulous fiction.

Stranger Days

Get to the bottom of the Upside Down and all the other Stranger Things.