> Skip to content

Stories of people at the intersection of life and death.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, nothing can be certain but death and taxes. And while we forensically explore the latter on an annual or quarterly basis, the former remains one of life’s enigmas. Insights into, explanations of and approaches to our deaths remain the jurisdiction of personal belief systems and religious teaching. But when we share the stories of the dying and those close to them, we gain unique perspective into life’s greatest leveller. Here are some viewpoints from the cusp.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness

  • For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, an intensive care doctor becomes a dying patient in her own hospital in this gripping memoir of unbearable loss, which calls for medical professionals to see patients as human beings, not just as a diagnosis.

  • The witty but compelling story of one man's view of his cancer and its treatment which became an instant bestseller on its publication.

  • Leslie Kean offers an impeccably researched investigation of the existence of reincarnation, near-death experiences, psychic abilities, and things that go bump in the night in Surviving Death

More Book Lists

Gifts for Children and Babies

Spark their curiosity with books that will entertain and educate.

Gifts for Gardeners

Gardening guides for green thumbs of every age and stage.

Gifts for Culture Lovers

Beautiful books spanning ballet, art, music and more.

Gifts for LEGO® fans

Fun-filled LEGO® books, including stickers, Star Wars™ projects and more.

Feast Your Eyes

Graphic novels: colouring some of our greatest stories in two dimensions.

Bird is the Word

Books that celebrate the splendour of our feathered friends.