> Skip to content

Stories of people at the intersection of life and death.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, nothing can be certain but death and taxes. And while we forensically explore the latter on an annual or quarterly basis, the former remains one of life’s enigmas. Insights into, explanations of and approaches to our deaths remain the jurisdiction of personal belief systems and religious teaching. But when we share the stories of the dying and those close to them, we gain unique perspective into life’s greatest leveller. Here are some viewpoints from the cusp.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • An astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness

  • For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, an intensive care doctor becomes a dying patient in her own hospital in this gripping memoir of unbearable loss, which calls for medical professionals to see patients as human beings, not just as a diagnosis.

  • The witty but compelling story of one man's view of his cancer and its treatment which became an instant bestseller on its publication.

  • Leslie Kean offers an impeccably researched investigation of the existence of reincarnation, near-death experiences, psychic abilities, and things that go bump in the night in Surviving Death

  • An inspiring memoir by a young mother with Stage Four metastatic cancer, The Unwinding of the Miracle challenges the way we write and talk about death and demands you contemplate your own fragility, relationships, and how you live your one precious life.

More Book Lists

Marvel Studios

Delve even deeper into Marvel Studios' epic cinematic universe with DK's all encompassing range of titles.

Mob Stories

Fifty years since The Godfather, we’ve assembled some of the world’s greatest mafia stories.

International Women’s Day 2019

Celebrating our undeniable, unstoppable, irrepressible strength in numbers.

Nostalgia Lane

Books that open windows to recent times gone by.

Big Sky Stories

Breathtaking rural Australian narratives.

Season of the Witch

Mind the broomstick, beware the hex: the witches are coming.