> Skip to content

Signposts for your future self.

For many of us our twenties are full of change – some of life’s defining years. Careers begin, passions are discovered, relationships forged, and grown-up you emerges from the muddle of adolescence. Here are some titles to read in during this formative decade. Books to help you explore where you’ve been, who you are and, ultimately, where you’re going. With contributions from our Facebook community and our colleagues, here are some books to read in your 20s.

  • A stunning bespoke gift package featuring an iconic design from the prize-winning artist, Noma Bar, eye-catching sprayed edges and ribbon. The perfect present for those who like their beauty with a bit of bite.

  • Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

  • Soon to be a major TV series on Channel 4 and Hulu, starring George Clooney and Hugh Laurie

  • Telling the story of the rise and fall of the town of Macondo and the generations of the Buendia family who found and then become trapped in it, One Hundred Years of Solitude is both tragic and comic, intimate and epic.

  • First with your head and then with your heart . . .

  • ‘One of the most important books to have been published since the war’ Daily Telegraph

  • Kurt Vonnegut's Cat's Cradle is an irreverent and highly entertaining fantasy about the playful irresponsibility of nuclear scientists, beautifully repackaged as part of the Penguin Essentials range.

  • Dark secrets, a devastating mystery and the games people play: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of The House We Grew Up In and The Third Wife.

  • The classic novel spanning every decade of the 20th century, available as a Penguin Essential for the first time.

  • For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

  • Hot Little Hands contains nine funny, confronting and pitch-perfect stories about stumbling on the fringes of innocence, and the marks desire can leave. Anya, in her fake-leather sneakers and second-hand clothes, just wants to fit in at her Melbourne school.

  • In 1979, Nam Le's family left Vietnam for Australia, an experience that inspires the first and last stories in The Boat. In between, however, Le's imagination lays claim to the world.

  • Hilarious, compelling and sometimes heartbreaking, The Feel-Good Hit of the Year is a memoir about family, addiction and learning how to live with yourself, from a sharp and original new Australian voice.

  • Media star Jamila Rizvi’s exploration of the confidence deficit holding women back, the barriers to career success this can create, and how they might be overcome. Accessible and timely, this is essential reading for millennial women.

  • One of the most shocking novels ever written, Naked Lunch is a cultural landmark, now in a restored edition incorporating Burroughs' notes on the text, alternate drafts and outtakes from the original.

  • A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.

More Book Lists

Barack Obama's 2019 Summer Reading List

Barack Obama shares the books he read (and loved) this summer.

Breaking the Banks

Economics, and how individual financial stories intersect with global movements.

Books for One-of-a-kind Dads

Honour your Dad’s individuality this Father’s Day with a gift from the heart.

Fur-midable Feline Fiesta

Celebrate International Cat Day – 8 August – with some im-paw-sibly fabulous fiction.

Stranger Days

Get to the bottom of the Upside Down and all the other Stranger Things.

The Gamblers

Rollicking yarns of scams, rip-offs, sure things and disastrous gambles.