> Skip to content

A brand new series set in north-east England during the Second World War. It features women from pit villages that commute by bus to work in a dangerous munitions factory every day. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Donna Douglas.

The first novel in the wonderful Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.
'A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story' Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series

‘A delightful authentic-feeling saga’ Peterborough Telegraph
‘Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times…Clarke’s love and respect for her family’s roots really shines through’ Culture Fly
'Beautifully written, the warmth shines from every page and the layers are as deep and rich as the coal seams the men work upon.' Frost Magazine
_________________________________________
August 1941: As war sweeps across Britain and millions of men enlist to serve their country, it’s up to the women to fight the battle on the home front.

Fran always thought she would marry her childhood sweetheart and lead a simple life in Massingham, the beloved pit village she has always called home.

But with war taking so many men to the front line, the opening of a new factory in the north-east of England presents an opportunity for Fran to forge a new path.

Against her father’s wishes and with best friends Sarah and Beth by her side, Fran signs up to join the ranks of women at the factory. It’s dangerous work but as the three friends risk life and limb for their country, they will discover that their lives are only just beginning…
___________________________________________
Look out for the next book in the series, Heroes on the Home Front, available for pre-order now!

Reviews

A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story. Annie’s latest novel set in a north-east pit village really does draw the reader in and conveys what it must have been like to be a woman working in a munitions factory during the Second World War. The three main female characters in the novel, Fran, Sarah and Beth have to endure horrendous conditions, but they do so for the sake of their country and to help their own poverty-stricken families. Annie Clarke’s descriptions of life on the home front in the tough mining village of Massingham are incredibly realistic, as is her use of the north-east vernacular. Girls on the Home Front is a story of friendship, resilience, community and courage. I’m sure this book will resonate with saga readers everywhere.

Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series

Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times … Clarke’s love and respect for her family’s roots really shines through

Culture Fly

A delightful authentic-feeling saga

Peterborough Telegraph

A heart-warming story of friendships, love and life … The characters were genuine and engaging, and the story was captivating. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to carry on their stories

Stardust Book Reviews

Beautifully written, the warmth shines from every page and the layers are as deep and rich as the coal seams the men work upon.

Frost Magazine

What a fantastic start to what is going to be prove to be a fantastic series. Superbly written … it draws you into the story from the word go.

Ginger Book Geek Blog

I couldn't put this warm, authentic and compelling novel down … I cheered, laughed, held my breath and wept alongside Fran, her family and friends. I'm already hooked!

Hair Past A Freckle Blog

Intriguing, emotional, and intense … Would recommend

Linda's Book Obsession Blog

A heartwarming story of a close-knit community trying to make it through a war. I’d recommend this book to anyone who loves their badass women, war novels, and stories of love and unity in the time of adversity

This is Lit Blog

There are certainly plenty of cliffhangers that need resolution and I'd say a few more skeletons to emerge from the closet too

Shaz's Book Blog

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781787462571

    May 7, 2019

    Arrow

    464 pages

    RRP $16.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473564640

    May 2, 2019

    Cornerstone Digital

    464 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks

Also by Annie Clarke