> Skip to content
  • Published: 24 April 2013
  • ISBN: 9781742538334
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

Dark Horse

Stylish erotic psychological suspense thriller from Honey Brown, the award-winning author of Red Queen, The Good Daughter and After the Darkness.

It's Christmas morning on the edge of the rugged Mortimer Ranges. Sarah Barnard saddles Tansy, her black mare. She is heading for the bush, escaping the reality of her broken marriage and her bankrupted trail-riding business.

Sarah seeks solace in the ranges. When a flash flood traps her on Devil Mountain, she heads to higher ground, taking shelter in Hangman's Hut.

She settles in to wait out Christmas.

A man, a lone bushwalker, arrives. Heath is charming, capable, handsome. But his story doesn't ring true. Why is he deep in the wilderness without any gear? Where is his vehicle? What's driving his resistance towards rescue? The closer they become the more her suspicions grow.

But to get off Devil Mountain alive, Sarah must engage in this secretive stranger's dangerous game of intimacy.
'Brown is the best writer of psychological suspense in Australia. Nothing is quite what the reader expects as Brown deftly steers her narrative to conclusion. One of those books that has to be read again to see how she does it.' Lucy Sussex, Sunday Age
'A ripper. Brown keeps the pages turning and the pulse racing with a masterful, sexy and chilling plot.' Weekend West Australian
'Honey Brown does an excellent job of this taut and atmospheric thriller, successfully adding a darkly sexy tone. The characters are well drawn and charismatic, and the twists are great.'Bookseller+Publisher
'The pace is compelling, the tension superb and the plot veers into a breathtaking twist. A finely crafted, stunning  psychological thriller that I can't recommend strongly enough.' Book'd Out
'A story that takes an unrelenting hold and doesn't let go. ... a gripping, suspenseful, rollercoaster of a read.' Great Aussie Reads
'A taut suspenseful psychological drama of the best kind.' The Hoopla

Praise for Honey Brown's novels
'There's a sense of foreboding craftily interwoven with the darkness of sexual desire running from the first to the last sentence in this achingly powerful suspense thriller.' Australian Women's Weekly
'Insightful and moving.' Adelaide Advertiser
'A taut psychological thriller . . . the most filmic of stories.' The Sun-Herald
'Engaging as hell.' Australian Book Review 

  • Published: 24 April 2013
  • ISBN: 9781742538334
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

About the author

Honey Brown

Honey Brown lives in country Victoria with her husband and two children. She is the author of four books: Red Queen, The Good Daughter, After the Darkness and Dark Horse. Red Queen was published to critical acclaim in 2009 and won an Aurealis Award, and The Good Daughter was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Barbara Jefferis Award in 2011. After the Darkness was selected for the Women's Weekly Great Read and for Get Reading 2012's 50 Books You Can't Put Down campaign. Her fifth novel, Through the Cracks, will be published in 2014.

Also by Honey Brown

See all

Awards & recognition

Davitt Awards

Winner  •  2014  •  Best Adult Crime novel