> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9780091956226
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

An Orphan's Secret




A family saga perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale

Life is a long, tough struggle for Meg Maddison…

Growing up caring for her brothers after the death of their mother, it is only her indomitable spirit that gets her through the hard times. And when she marries and starts a family of her own, it seems as if the hardships are over.

But the return of a darkly menacing figure from her past threatens to destroy all she has fought for…

  • Pub date: 15 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9780091956226
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles