> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 17 March 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446446614
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

A Wartime Nurse




A gritty, heartwarming saga perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nadine Dorries


As bombs begin to fall, her strength will be tested...

A newly qualified nurse, Theda Wearmouth is delighted to gain a place at Newcastle Hospital. But the onset of war brings tragedy when her young soldier boyfriend is killed in action before he can make good on his promise to marry her.

Broken-hearted, Theda finds herself re-assigned to a special unit of the hospital dealing with German prisoners of war. Her duty is clear. But will she be able to cope with nursing the very men her fiancé died fighting...?


A gritty family saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Miner’s Girl and An Orphan’s Secret

  • Pub date: 17 March 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446446614
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Praise for A Wartime Nurse

“Watch out Catherine Cookson”

Northern Echo


Related titles