> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 26 April 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448118564
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480
Categories:

A Nurse's Duty




A compelling family saga perfect for readers of Donna Douglas and viewers of BBC's Call the Midwife

Torn between love and duty...

Following a disastrous marriage to a miner, Karen has devoted herself to a nursing career. Rising to the challenge of caring for the wounded soldiers returning home from the Great War, she has resigned herself to putting her vocation before any hope of a romantic life.

However, she finds herself drawn to handsome, troubled Patrick Murphy. But Patrick is also a Catholic priest. Dare Karen risk scandal and her position by falling for the one man she cannot have...?

  • Pub date: 26 April 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448118564
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles