> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781448116225
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416
Categories:

A Mother's Gift




A heartbreaking family saga for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin


What will Katie do to keep her child?

When Katie’s grandfather and her childhood sweetheart are both killed in a mining accident, she is devastated by grief.

Matthew Hamilton, the unscrupulous owner of the mine, takes advantage of her distress in the most despicable manner. Thrown out by her grandmother, her reputation and nursing career in tatters, Katie finds herself facing a home for unmarried mothers. Only Hamilton offers her a way to keep her baby, but only if she forgoes her principles and becomes his mistress...

  • Pub date: 31 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781448116225
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Praise for A Mother's Gift

“Watch out Catherine Cookson”

Northern Echo


Related titles