> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 February 2014
  • ISBN: 9780091952921
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $14.99
Categories:

A Daughter's Duty




A heartwarming and gritty family saga from Sunday Times bestseller Maggie Hope - perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.

She’s bound by her duty to her family...

Forced to leave school at the age of fourteen, young Rose Sharpe’s dreams of independence are ruined by her domineering father and constantly ailing mother.

It falls to Rose to bring up her young sister and run the household, with little thanks from either of her parents. But just as Rose has almost given up hope, she realises she has a secret admirer of her own…

  • Pub date: 15 February 2014
  • ISBN: 9780091952921
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles