> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  2 August 2016

 

Music and Freedom book club notes

A debut novel to savour: Zoë Morrison’s Music and Freedom.

At its heart, Zoë Morrison’s gripping debut novel, Music and Freedom, is the love story of a woman who must embrace life again if she is to survive. Inspiring and compelling, it explores the dark terrain of violence and the transformative powers of music and love. Explore the questions below and spark a memorable discussion at your next book club meet-up.

 

READING GROUP QUESTIONS

  • Zoë Morrison has said of the title of her book: ‘I wanted to invoke that feeling I get when I'm listening to music I love. That levity, that flight into beautiful feeling… And the book includes a complex and at times intellectual and political − as well as emotional − relationship with the art and practice of music, in its many forms.’ As the novel draws to a close, what do you make of the title, Music and Freedom?
  • Music is a driving force throughout the story; Morrison’s prose is suffused with melody. Do you think that in the end music helped to free Alice?
  • There is a terrible darkness at the heart of the novel, as Alice must endure the unendurable. How different do you think her life in Cardwell Road would have been had she and Edward married thirty years later?
  • Friendship is an important theme of the novel. Discuss how powerful friendship can be in one’s salvation, or how limited a role it might have?
  • Emily’s presence in Alice’s life changes everything. What do you suppose would have come of Alice had she not met Emily?
  • In many ways Emily is a product of her times, just as Alice is a product of hers. Yet the trajectories of their respective lives also contribute to the people they become. Why do Emily and Alice form such strong rapport and mutual recognition?
  • Richard’s behaviour towards his mother could be perceived in several different lights. What do you make of him as a character and son?
  • Oxford, the town, and the University of Oxford, have been much depicted, romanticised and venerated in film, television and literature. In this novel there is a certain edge to the evocation of the university town. Morrison studied human geography at Oxford while also running a children’s choir on a notorious public housing estate there. How do you think this would have informed her depiction of the ‘dreaming spires’?

Music and Freedom Zoe Morrison

Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Q&A
Zoe Morrison Q&A

The Music and Freedom author on the book’s inspiration and creation.

Book clubs
The Paper Palace book club notes

A magnificent literary pick for book club.

Book clubs
A Slow Fire Burning book club notes

An exciting new thriller from the author of The Girl on the Train to discuss with your book club.

Book clubs
How to start a book club

Get your very own book club off the ground with these tips from The Wattle Island Book Club author.

Book clubs
The Farmer’s Friend book club notes

An uplifting Australian drama from rural midwife and bestselling author Fiona McArthur.

Book clubs
Wattle Island Book Club book club notes

A story filled with courage, passion and hope to share with your reading group.

Book clubs
Cutters End book club notes

A desert highway. A remote town. A murder that won’t stay hidden.

Book clubs
The Garden of Hopes and Dreams book club notes

A timely and uplifting story about the importance of community and connection from much-loved author Barbara Hannay.

Book clubs
Once There Were Wolves book club notes

Part thriller, part redemptive love story, and sure to be a crowd-pleaser at your next book club meeting.

Book clubs
Mirror Man book club notes

Ponder whether one life is worth more than another with Fiona McIntosh's latest thriller.

Book clubs
The Deep book club notes

This heart-stopping thriller set on the rugged coast of Tasmania is an excellent choice for book club.

Book clubs
The Coconut Children book club notes

An award-winning pick for your next book club meeting.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes