> Skip to content

Peter Carey was born in Bacchus Marsh, Victoria, and now lives in New York. He is the author of fourteen novels (including one for children), two volumes of short stories, and two books on travel.

Amongst other prizes, Carey has won the Booker Prize twice (for Oscar and Lucinda and True History of the Kelly Gang), the Commonwealth Writers' Prize twice (for Jack Maggs and True History of the Kelly Gang), and the Miles Franklin Literary Award three times (for Bliss, Oscar and Lucinda and Jack Maggs).

Books by Peter Carey

A Long Way from Home
The Unusual Life of Tristan Smith
Jack Maggs
Theft: A Love Story
The Tax Inspector
Oscar and Lucinda
Collected Stories
The Chemistry of Tears
Parrot and Olivier in America
True History of the Kelly Gang
His Illegal Self
Wrong About Japan
My Life as a Fake