> Skip to content

Arthur Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859 in Edinburgh into a prosperous Irish family. He trained as a doctor, gaining his degree from Edinburgh University in 1881. He worked as a surgeon on a whaling boat and also as a medical officer on a steamer travelling between Liverpool and West Africa. He then settled in Portsmouth on the English south coast and divided his time between medicine and writing.

Sherlock Holmes made his first appearance in A Study of Scarlet, published in 'Beeton's Christmas Annual' in 1887. Its success encouraged Conan Doyle to write more stories involving Holmes but, in 1893, Conan Doyle killed off Holmes, hoping to concentrate on more serious writing. A public outcry later made him resurrect Holmes. In addition, Conan Doyle wrote a number of other novels, including The Lost World and various non-fictional works. These included a pamphlet justifying Britain's involvement in the Boer War, for which he was knighted and histories of the Boer War and World War One, in which his son, brother and two of his nephews were killed. Conan Doyle also twice ran unsuccessfully for parliament. In later life he became very interested in spiritualism.

Conan Doyle died of a heart attack on 7 July 1930.

Books by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: Popular Penguins
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Sherlock Holmes Volume 3
Sherlock Holmes The Greatest Cases Volume 1
Sherlock Holmes: The Four Novels Collection
The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes
The Greatest Cases of Sherlock Holmes (Faux Leather Edition)
Lot No. 249
Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures
The White Company
The Sign Of Four
The Adventure Of The Engineer's Thumb And Other Cases
A Study In Scarlet
The Adventure Of Six Napoleons And Other Cases
The Valley Of Fear
The Hound of the Baskervilles, A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four
Sherlock: The Return of Sherlock Holmes
Sherlock: His Last Bow
The Extraordinary Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: Green Popular Penguins
A Study In Scarlet
The Five Orange Pips And The Other Cases
The Five Orange Pips And Other Cases
Sherlock: Sign of Four