> Skip to content

News  •  8 November 2023


Submissions for the $20,000 Penguin Literary Prize 2024 now open

The annual Penguin Literary Prize returns, offering literary fiction writers the opportunity to win $20,000 and publish with PRH AU.

In 2017, the Penguin Literary Prize was established to discover, nurture, and develop literary fiction writers, providing a unique platform for new and diverse voices to emerge.

Offering aspiring authors from across Australia the chance to become a part of the Penguin Random House (PRH) community, the prize includes $20,000 and the opportunity for the winner to publish with PRH AU, home to over 80 Nobel Prize laureates and hundreds of the world’s most widely read authors.

The prize attracts approximately 400 submissions across various themes and genres of literary fiction each year, showcasing some of the best writing from every corner of Australia.

As the richest prize for an unpublished manuscript in the Australian publishing industry, the Penguin Literary Prize also has an amazing legacy of fostering some of our country’s best and brightest voices.

Every previous winner has had their books published with PRH AU, and many have sold international and foreign-language rights in their books, spreading Australian literature from the UK to Estonia and beyond.

‘The prize was established to provide more paths to publishing for undiscovered writers,’ says PRH publisher, Meredith Curnow. ‘From booksellers to editors, many PRH associates read entries, and we all look forward to playing a part in bringing new writers and books to publication.’

Michelle See-Tho, winner of the 2023 Penguin Literary Prize, says: ‘It is such an incredible opportunity from a prestigious publisher. It opens doors that seem locked to fledgling writers.

‘When I entered, I had no idea I would be shortlisted. But uploading that document turned out to be one of the best things I’ve done. If you have a manuscript, I can’t recommend entering it enough.

You have nothing to lose and an incredible prize to gain.’

The details

  • The prize: $20,000 and the opportunity to publish with PRH AU
  • Eligibility: Submissions open to all Australian residents aged 18+, more T&C here
  • Submitting: Entries can be submitted at penguin.com.au/literaryprize
  • Important dates:
    • Submissions close on 11 December 2023 at 11:59 PM AEDT
    • Shortlist announced 9 March 2024, 10 AM AEDT
    • Winner announced 6 June 2024, 10 AM AEDT

Ready to submit? Click here!

More features

See all
Penguin Random House to publish Serena Williams’ memoir

Penguin Random House will publish two books by cultural icon Serena Williams, winner of 39 major tennis titles, four-time Olympic gold medallist, and champion for equality and justice in sports.

Write It Fellowship recipients 2023

We're delighted to announce the recipients of the 2023 Write It Fellowship.

Neverlanders wins the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award for Older Readers 2023

Tom Taylor and Jon Sommariva have won the 2023 Book of the Year for Older Readers for their graphic novel, Neverlanders, published 20 September 2022.

Penguin Random House AU celebrates first-ever Penguin Noir event

On 9 August 2023, Penguin Random House AU hosted our first-ever in-house author event for Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase.

T2 and Penguin Random House AU announce limited edition gift packs

T2 and Penguin Books Australia have joined forces to honour the perfect paring of tea and books.

All about the Be Well team

Meet our Be Well team, dedicated to workplace wellness and employee empowerment.

How Penguin Random House AU implemented diversity & inclusion initiatives in 2022

Look back at how PRH AU implemented social impact initiatives in 2022.

Penguin Noir: A Crime Author Showcase

An exciting Penguin Random House author showcase on 9 August!

Darren Hayes announces new book coming late 2024

We are delighted to announce the acquisition of World rights in a memoir from singer, songwriter and former front man of Savage Garden, Darren Hayes.

Penguin Literary Prize 2023 Winner Announced

And the winner is . . . Michelle See-Tho!

Tim Winton has just been awarded the 2023 Lloyd O’Neil Award

The Australian Publishers Association (APA) has named Tim Winton the recipient of the 2023 Lloyd O’Neil Award, which honours outstanding service to the Australian book industry.

Looking for more news?

See all news