> Skip to content

News  •  18 August 2023


Neverlanders wins the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award for Older Readers 2023

Tom Taylor and Jon Sommariva have won the 2023 Book of the Year for Older Readers for their graphic novel, Neverlanders, published 20 September 2022.

Established in 1946, the CBCA’s Book of the Year awards aim to promote quality literature for young Australians by celebrating the outstanding contributions of Australian authors and illustrators. The CBCA is a not-for-profit, volunteer run-organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians.

Author, Tom Taylor says, ‘I'm so excited that, for the first time in its 77-year history, a comic book has won the Book of the Year for Older Readers. To me, comics are the greatest storytelling medium on the planet, and potentially the most powerful educational tool available for reluctant readers. Knowing that our graphic novel about young people fighting for their future, will be in more libraries and schools, and in the hands of more people across the country, makes me very happy. I hope Australia truly embraces the adventures of our new Lost Ones of Neverland and General Tinkerbell.’

Illustrator, Jon Sommariva shares, ‘It's truly amazing to receive this award from the CBCA. It’s an honour to have the work recognised at the top level within our own country. I already feel so lucky to draw comics for a living and to have had the opportunity to collaborate and co-create this book with Tom. Reimagining the world of Neverland has been a career highlight. Graphic novels are such a wonderful way to tell a story – they inspired me to read and to draw and tell my stories as a kid. I hope people of all ages will enjoy the pages of Neverlanders as much as we enjoyed making them. Perhaps we might even light a little fire of inspiration within future generations of Aussie comic book makers.’

A dark spin on the world of Peter Pan, Neverlanders is a gritty YA graphic novel in which Neverland has become a war zone and a new group of lost teens must set things right.


Learn more about the book here and check out our Teachers' Notes for themes, disccusion points and more. 

Feature Title

Neverland has become a war zone and it’s up to a new group of lost teens to set things right in this gritty YA graphic novel series from #1 New York Times bestselling Australian author Tom Taylor and powerhouse Australian comic artist Jon Sommariva!
Read more

More features

See all
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Award-winning and shortlisted books of 2023

Discover some of the best Penguin Random House books of 2023 with this list of award-winning and shortlisted titles this year.

An inside scoop on the new Peter-Pan-inspired book, Neverlanders

Tom Taylor and Jon Sommariva told us all about creating distinct characters, the moment inspiration for Neverlanders struck, and what their animal superpowers would be.

Two Penguin Random House books have been shortlisted for the 2024 CBCA awards

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted.

CBCA Book of the Year Notables 2024

5 Penguin books have made the Notables list this year. Learn more about them here.

Penguin Random House Australia will publish Bindi Irwin's debut picture book in February 2025

Bindi Irwin has a message for animal-loving kids: You can help protect the planet and all who call it home!

Chloe Adams wins the $20,000 Penguin Literary Prize 2024 for The Occupation

Penguin Random House Australia is thrilled to announce The Occupation by Chloe Adams as the winner of the Penguin Literary Prize 2024.

Penguin Random House wins Publisher of the Year 2024

Penguin Random House has won Publisher of the Year at the 2024 Australian Book Industry Awards. Congrats and thank you to the authors, agents, booksellers, suppliers, employees and readers who made it possible.

Penguin Random House Australia celebrates 20th anniversary of Where is the Green Sheep? with special gold-foiled collector’s edition

To celebrate the twentieth anniversary of Where is the Green Sheep, Penguin Random House Australia will publish a special gold-foiled collector’s edition, available in Australian stores from 30 April 2024.

2024 ABIAs shortlist announced

Check out the Penguin Random House books that have been shortlisted for the ABIAs in 2024. The winners will be announced on 9 May 2024.

2024 Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announced

See the six shortlisted titles for the 2024 Penguin Literary Prize. Winner to be announced 6 June 2024.

Penguin Random House Australia to expand Bluey publishing program with new illustrated chapter books in 2024

Penguin Random House Australia and BBC studios are thrilled to announce that the Bluey publishing program will expand in 2024 to include three new illustrated chapter books.

Looking for more news?

See all news