> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 29 November 2018
  • ISBN: 9781473551114
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Workhouse Nightingale




A heartwarming and gritty clogs and shawls saga about an orphan in a Liverpool workhouse dreaming of making a better life for herself - perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Dilly Court.

Can this orphan ever fulfil her nursing dreams...?

After her mother's death, Dora is sent to live with her father and his other family. But the fact that Dora is mixed race and illegitimate see her treated as little more than a servant by her step-mother and half siblings. This doesn't stop the son of the house abusing his position and Dora finds herself on the streets and pregnant...

Sent to the local workhouse, Dora's future looks bleak but she still dreams of a better life where she can help others as her late mother did with her herbal remedies. But can a girl from a workhouse ever achieve anything, let alone become one of Florence Nightingale's nurses?

________________________________

Make sure you've read all the books in the Workhouse series:
1. Workhouse Orphans
2. Workhouse Angel
3. Workhouse Nightingale
4. Workhouse Girl
And don't miss Holly Green's new series about wartime nurses:
1. Frontline Nurses
2. Frontline Nurses On Duty
3. Secrets of the Frontline Nurses

  • Pub date: 29 November 2018
  • ISBN: 9781473551114
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

About the Author

Holly Green

Holly Green writes historical sagas about love and war, and her books are inspired by the stories she heard from her parents when she was a child. Her father was a professional singer with a fine baritone voice and her mother was a dancer, but they hd to give up their professions at the outbreak of World War II.

Holly is from Liverpool and is a trained actress and teacher - her claim to fame being that she gave Daniel Craig his first acting experience!

Holly is married, and enjoys spending time with her two delightful grandchildren.

Holly Green writes historical sagas about love and war, and her books are inspired by the stories she heard from her parents when she was a child. Her father was a professional singer with a fine baritone voice and her mother was a dancer, but they had to give up their professions at the outbreak of World War II.

Holly is from Liverpool and is a trained actress and teacher – her claim to fame being that she gave Daniel Craig his first acting experience!

Holly is married and enjoys spending time with her two delightful grandchildren.

Also by Holly Green

See all

Related titles