> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 13 April 2017
  • ISBN: 9781473551138
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

Workhouse Orphans




A gritty, heartwarming family saga perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Dilly Court

All they have left is each other...

Life has always been tough for May and Gus Lavender. Their father went away to sea never to return, and then their mother falls victim to the typhus sweeping through Liverpool. Regarded as orphans by the authorities, May and Gus are sent to the Brownlow Hill Workhouse.

Like all workhouses, Brownlow is the last resort for the poor and the destitute. May and Gus will have to rely on each other more than ever if they are to survive the hardships to come...

A sweeping family saga for readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale
**Don't miss the new heartwarming saga from Holly Green, Workhouse Angel, out now**

  • Pub date: 13 April 2017
  • ISBN: 9781473551138
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

About the Author

Holly Green

Holly Green writes historical sagas about love and war, and her books are inspired by the stories she heard from her parents when she was a child. Her father was a professional singer with a fine baritone voice and her mother was a dancer, but they hd to give up their professions at the outbreak of World War II.

Holly is from Liverpool and is a trained actress and teacher - her claim to fame being that she gave Daniel Craig his first acting experience!

Holly is married, and enjoys spending time with her two delightful grandchildren.

Holly Green writes historical sagas about love and war, and her books are inspired by the stories she heard from her parents when she was a child. Her father was a professional singer with a fine baritone voice and her mother was a dancer, but they had to give up their professions at the outbreak of World War II.

Holly is from Liverpool and is a trained actress and teacher – her claim to fame being that she gave Daniel Craig his first acting experience!

Holly is married and enjoys spending time with her two delightful grandchildren.

Also by Holly Green

See all

Related titles