> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407034355
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

Warrior

(Matthew Hervey 10)




In South Africa, Matthew Hervey clashes with the Warrior King of the Zulu.

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell and CS Forester, another breath-taking Matthew Hervey adventure from the pen of THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Allan Mallinson.
"Captain Matthew Hervey is as splendid a hero as ever sprang from an author's pen" -- THE TIMES
"Hervey's thrilling battles against the vivid backdrop of the developing British Empire make for richly engaging storytelling" -- DAILY MAIL
"Highly addictive" -- ***** Reader review
"This series just gets better and better" -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************************************
1828: Matthew Hervey of the 6th Light Dragoons is urgently summoned to the Cape Colony when he learns that the Zulu warrior King Shaka is about to wage war.

Soon Hervey, his old friend Eyre Somervile and their escort of dragoons and mounted rifles are riding north. When they arrive at Shaka's kraal, it quickly becomes apparent that he has slaughtered thousands of his subjects - warriors and women alike.

When Shaka is killed by his own people, and the region plunged into civil war, Hervey and his men find themselves in the midst of terrible danger.

Yet worse is to come. Separated from his troop, Hervey must lead Shaka's queen across a hostile land where sanctuary has never seemed further away ...

  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407034355
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

About the author

Allan Mallinson

A professional solder for thirty-five years, Allan Mallinson began writing while still serving.
His first book was a history of four regiments of British light dragoons, one of which he commanded. His debut novel was the bestselling A Close Run Thing, the first in an acclaimed series chronicling the life of a fictitious cavalry officer before and after Waterloo (The Tigress of Mysore is the fourteenth in the series). His The Making of the British Army was shortlisted for a number of prizes, while 1914: Fight the Good Fight won the British Army’s ‘Book of the Year’ Award. Its sequel, Too Important for the Generals, is a provocative look at leadership during the Great War, while Fight to the Finish is a comprehensive history of the First World War, month by month.
Allan Mallinson reviews for the Spectator and the TLS and also writes for The Times. He lives on Salisbury Plain.

Also by Allan Mallinson

See all

Praise for Warrior

Puts the reader firmly in the middle of the most blood-boltered of battles...historical fiction readers of robust tastes need look no further.

THE TIMES

Immaculately researched, with every detail of the cavalry spectacularly drawn, this is the work of an intensely accomplished historical novelist. Hervey's thrilling battles make for richly engaging old-fashioned storytelling.

DAILY MAIL

Battle scenes are what he does best.

THE SPECTATOR

Related titles