> Skip to content
  • Published: 6 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9781787463288
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

The Things We Left Unsaid

An unforgettable story of love and family




Imbued with warmth, All of Us is a life-affirming read which explores the ways in which it is the people we love the most who truly shape us. Fans of Ruth Hogan, Jojo Moyes and Ruth Jones will be captivated by Emma Kennedy's debut adult novel.

A LIFETIME OF SECRETS. A SUMMER OF NEW BEGINNINGS._____________________"So tender and thoughtful. I loved it" MARIAN KEYES"A gorgeous, rich treat" JANE FALLON"Warm, intriguing, brimming with tenderness... A joyous book" RUTH JONES________________________ONLY THE TRUTH WILL SET HER FREE . . . After her wedding in cancelled hours before she is due to walk down the aisle, Rachel is newly single and must move back in with her mother, Eleanor.

But their relationship is far from perfect, and their family home is filled with secrets.

It will take a devastating turn of events for Rachel to finally unravel a powerful truth. One that Eleanor has kept close to her heart for decades.

Will unlocking the past help Rachel find the key to her future?"This book is incredibly special... I cared so deeply for all of the characters... I got lost in it and I miss the characters so much" GABY ROSLIN"Involving and emotional" JANET ELLIS

"Warm and compelling" WOMAN________________________Early readers absolutely love The Things We Left Unsaid:'A really enjoyable book.''Truly beautiful. I adored this book. I cried and know that when I read this again and again I'll cry each time.''A real and full story that was completely relatable.''An excellent read and I would certainly recommend it.''The sense of time and place was very authentic.''I loved the characters and both them and London felt so alive. The story unfolded at a good pace with lots of treasured moments and the story felt new.''The little details portraying the different time periods really make this book special. This is definitely one I'll be recommending.''A beautiful story of relationships and their complications.''Would recommend without hesitation.''I absolutely loved it.''Set in two time periods, present day and the sixties, this is a compelling tale of two women coming of age and coming to terms with themselves. I loved this book.''I loved this book, from start to finish it had me wanting to keep reading!''It is funny, sad and intriguing, a must read. I honestly was sad to get to the end.''A funny, touching story.''This novel is an absolute gem. I loved everything about it.''I loved the way the characters were developed in the story. They worked their way into my heart.''This author has insight and compassion and is an excellent storyteller, wise and full of empathy.'

  • Published: 6 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9781787463288
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Emma Kennedy

Emma Kennedy is a bestselling author, TV writer, actress and presenter. She has written ten books including her bestselling memoirs, The Tent the Bucket and Me and I Left My Tent in San Francisco. She wrote the Wilma Tenderfoot series for children and has also adapted The Tent the Bucket and Me for the BBC, renamed The Kennedys. The Time of Our Lives is Emma’s second adult novel.

As an actress Emma has appeared in many award-winning comedies including Goodness Gracious Me, People Like Us and Miranda. Emma won Celebrity Masterchef in 2012 and is a Guinness World Record holder.

Emma lives in Surrey with her wife and their dogs, and is hard at work on her next novel. You can follow her on Twitter @EmmaKennedy.

Also by Emma Kennedy

See all

Praise for The Things We Left Unsaid

A beautiful novel . . . so tender and thoughtful. I loved it.

Marian Keyes

A gorgeous, rich treat

Jane Fallon

A joyous book

Ruth Jones

Gorgeous. . . The Things We Left Unsaid is about how we are always searching for who we are and trying to find out the truth of the past,’

Frost magazine (blog)

This book is incredibly special… I cared so deeply for all of the characters.

Gaby Roslin

A radiant novel.

Sheer Luxe

Moving back and forth between Eleanor’s student life in swinging 60s London and the present, this is a moving story of families and the secrets they keep.

S Magazine

Beautifully written, the examination of the mother/daughter relationship elevates what is already a warm and compelling read.

Woman

My favourite book of the year

Prima magazine

Related titles