> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 17 October 2023
  • ISBN: 9781761343964
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 11 hr 51 min
  • Narrator: Ainslie McGlynn
  • RRP: $34.99

The Sugar Palace

The gripping historical romantic adventure from the bestselling author of The Pearl Thief




The gripping historical romantic adventure from the bestselling author of The Pearl Thief.

This audiobook features an exclusive Author’s Note narrated by Fiona McIntosh.
‘How about we call it the Sugar Palace? And when people enter, we’ll make sure it feels like a colourful fairytale spun from sugar.’
One woman’s ambition
Sydney, 1925: When Grace Fairweather meets the irresistible Londoner Alfie Sweeting, dreams of selling her homemade confectionery are spun into reality.

A criminal past
When the truth about Alfie’s roguish past is revealed, Grace and Alfie’s fairytale sweetshop – and their lives – comes under threat.

An impossible decision
Up against razorgangs, brothel madams and cocaine dealers, Grace will be forced to make the most difficult decision of all. Who can she trust to save the Sugar Palace?

'A gripping read for fans of Kate Furnivall and Natasha Lester, with skilful storytelling and compelling characters that leap from the page.' Books+Publishing

  • Published: 17 October 2023
  • ISBN: 9781761343964
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 11 hr 51 min
  • Narrator: Ainslie McGlynn
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Fiona McIntosh

Fiona McIntosh is an internationally bestselling author of novels for adults and children. She co-founded an award-winning travel magazine with her husband, which they ran for fifteen years while raising their twin sons before she became a full-time author. Fiona roams the world researching and drawing inspiration for her novels, and runs a series of highly respected fiction masterclasses. She calls South Australia home.

Also by Fiona McIntosh

See all

Discover more

Article
Better Reading’s Top 100 books of 2024 announced

Penguin Random House is proud to have twenty-four titles on the list this year.

Article
The best book duos to gift for Christmas 2023

Perfect book pairings to give loved ones this holiday season.

Article
The 10 bestselling fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling fiction books this year.

Article
The Sugar Palace book club questions

A heart-stopping romantic adventure to read with your book club.

Video
The Sugar Palace by Fiona McIntosh

READ MORE: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/the-sugar-palace-9781761047015 The heart-stopping new historical romantic adventure from the bestselling author of The Orphans. 'The Sugar Palace is a gripping read for fans of Kate Furnivall and Natasha Lester, with skilful storytelling and compelling characters that leap from the page.' Books+Publishing Under the clamour of the Sydney Harbour Bridge being built nearby, Grace Fairweather is working in her father’s grocery shop in The Rocks when she begins making her own confectionery. Her colourful creations of toffees, lollies and chocolates soon become crowd favourites, and Grace begins to dream of one day opening her own sweetshop. When the roguish but irresistible Londoner Alfie Sweeting comes to work for the Fairweathers, his ambition for her success thrills her – so much so that she begins to question her engagement to Norman. Perhaps the ‘safe’ option in life isn’t the right thing for her after all. Alfie encourages her to open not just a sweetshop, but a delightful destination for young and old – a sugar palace! With Grace’s natural business acumen and Alfie’s creative sales skills, it seems like they could be the perfect pairing – in work and in love – but when Alfie’s criminal past catches up with him, both their lives come under threat and Grace is forced to make the most difficult decision of all. Moving between the colourful world of a carnival-like confectionery store and Sydney’s organised crime world of brothel madams, gambling dens and cocaine dealers, this is a thrilling romantic adventure that shows not everyone is to be trusted, and life isn’t always as sweet as it seems.